03
Jan
08

The One Book Meme

Jason, the Man of Steel has tagged me with the One Book Meme. I’m not much of a reader but I want to be so here goes:
1. One book that changed your life:
Blue Like Jazz by Donald Miller – I don’t know if it was better than The Velvet Elvis or any of the stuff I’ve read by Erwin or Louie but it’s where I’m at right now and it keeps smacking me in the face. I’ll get off this merry go round soon though but for now it’s like an oxygen tank to my soul!
2. One book that you’ve read more than once:
Blue Like Jazz by Donald Miller – I honestly think it’s the only one 🙂
3. One book you’d want on a desert island:
Sandcastles Made Simple: Step by Step Instructions for Building Sensational Sand Creations
by Lucinda Weirenga – I mean come on, we’re stranded on a desert island! I’ve watched Survivor and can figure that stuff out, I want to have fun on that beach 🙂
4. One book that made you laugh:
Everybody Wants to Go To Heaven But Nobody Wants
to Die by David Crowder and Mike Hogan – another book that changed my life and turned me on to reading again!

5. One book that made you cry:
I’m not a crier but while reading #4 there was some dust flying around the room or something like that making my eyes water in some spots. Kyle’s death really resounded with me and this book helped me really cope with how I’ve handled the deaths in my life so far.

6. One book that you wish had been written:
Jesus: The Middle Years
– It needs a better title of course. Maybe Anne Rice is working up to this one.

7. One book that you wish had never been written:
Chicken Soup for the Cat Lover’s Soul
– seriously was that one necessary?

8. One book you’re currently reading:
Blue Like Jazz
by Donald Miller, Communicating for a Change by Andy Stanley, about to hop on The Pilgrim’s Progress by John Bunyan (Christmas Present), and some graphic novels I hope to grab before B. Dalton closes for good in the mall.

9. One book you’ve been meaning to read:
I’d love to read the entire Bible and I desperately want to pick up To Own a Dragon by Don (maybe what I need to get off BLJ!) and The Instruction Manual for Your Boss DD-20 by Boss.

10. Now tag five people:
Many of ya’ll have done this so I’ll try not to duplicate: Jonathan, Donna, Chris, Tunz, and Guitarist

2 Responses to “The One Book Meme”


  1. January 3, 2008 at 9:59 am

    To Own A Dragon was a fun and quick read.

    Everybody Wants To Go To Heaven has been on my shelf for over a year…

  2. January 3, 2008 at 5:19 pm

    Oh man, crack up EWTGTHBNWTD 🙂 It’s a good one. Especially for the ADD Elite! You’ve got to turn the book on it’s side, read columns instead of paragraphs, learn about bluegrass, peek into some IMs b/w Hogan and Crowder, get confused, and come out the other side blitzed by emotion!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


