04
Jan
08

Words with meaning – Broken

Man, oh man, I simply cannot get enough of this song. Interpret it how you will, I find it encouraging and hopeful! It truly hones in on the brokenness that we suffer from. Sure it could be a lost love, but this song to me captures so much more.
How many times have I wanted to not get up in the morning?
How many times have I put on a front that’s as transparent as glass but I hide behind it ever still?
How many times have I ran off but know exactly how and who to come home to?
Sometimes I simply find myself barely holding on…but I’m holding on and that’s the important thing. Christ doesn’t offer us a glamorous easy life but the knowledge that He’s got things in order and working them out according to his glory is more thank OK for me.

LifehouseBroken

The broken clock is a comfort, it helps me sleep tonight
Maybe it can stop tomorrow from stealing all my time
And I am here still waiting, though I still have my doubts
I am damaged at best like you’ve already figured out

I’m falling apart, barely breathing
With a broken heart that’s still beating
In the pain there is healing
In your name I find meaning
So I’m holding on
I’m barely holding on to you

The broken locks were a warning you got inside my head
I tried my best to be guarded but I’m an open book instead
And I still see your reflection inside of my eyes
That are looking for purpose they’re still looking for life

I’m falling apart, barely breathing
With a broken heart that’s still beating
In the pain there is healing
In your name I find meaning
So I’m holding on
I’m barely holding on to you

I’m hanging on another day
Just to see what you will throw my way
And I’m hanging on to the words you say
You said that I will, I will be okay

Broken lights on the freeway left me here alone
I may have lost my way now; haven’t forgotten my way home
I’m falling apart, barely breathing
With a broken heart that’s still beating
In the pain there is healing
In your name I find meaning
So I’m holding on
I’m barely holding on to you

19 Responses to “Words with meaning – Broken”


  1. January 4, 2008 at 10:23 am

    I LOVE this song!

    They closed with it at their concert, and it was AMAZING!

  2. January 4, 2008 at 10:23 am

    ps. It’s worth seeing them again, if only to see them perform that one song.

  3. January 4, 2008 at 10:55 am

    I totally agree. I got some backlash here after reviewing them in concert about how some people wished they had done Everything, but this is my new Everything! Closing that night off with this tune was spectacular!

  4. January 4, 2008 at 11:36 am

    Nice – such a great song!!

    After reading your post it made me think of a service that we’ve got coming up where this song would fit perfectly. Thanks man.

  5. January 10, 2008 at 10:47 pm

    Not sure if you’re watching Grey’s Anatomy but this episode is all about faith and they’re playing this song at a pretty intense moment. I think a Derek Webb song is coming later, too.

  6. 6 aharown
    January 11, 2008 at 6:54 am

    That Grey’s episode was about “faith” as a new age concept, in , not in the Christian God. It bothers me that Lifehouse let them use this track for that ep.

  7. 7 aharown
    January 11, 2008 at 6:56 am

    Argh. That was supposed to read:

    That Grey’s episode was about “faith” as a new age concept, as in “insert bogus spiritual concept here” (with brackets instead of quotes, but the silly html tagging killed the brackets). It bothers me that Lifehouse let them use this track for that ep.

  8. 8 JERI
    January 15, 2008 at 4:23 am

    I liked that episode of Grey’s. Miranda talked about how her faith was in God. I think all the people caring about the child, praying for him, and the spirit of forgiveness was what was suppose to have helped the little guy through, but if it bothered your conscious to the point you are critizing Lifehouse for being part of it, then maybe you shouldn’t have been watching it.

  9. January 15, 2008 at 8:37 am

    Wow, ok I must go check out this episode of Grey’s that everyone is talking about! Anyone know the episode title?

  10. January 15, 2008 at 4:35 pm

    From a fan’s stand point, I don’t know why it would bother anyone to hear “Broken” on the episode of Grey’s Anatomy. To me, it’s all about reaching others through music and that is what Lifehouse is trying to do. Why do you think Jason wrote the song in the first place?

    And for those of you who are wondering what the song is actually about, thankfully I run his website…

    Jason visited one of his good friends in the hospital to only find out that he was really doing bad and in a lot of pain. Jason couldn’t sleep that night and woke up with tears running down his face and wrote this song.

    So, if any of you actually think this isn’t a Christian song and just about some girl (Jason is happily married for 7 years anyway!) you’re wrong. =]

  11. February 29, 2008 at 6:44 am

    You don’t know me but i found your site while googling “Meaning behind Broken Lifehouse”
    What you wrote was very true.

    I listened this song all the time but i never listened to the lyrics coz everytime…i’m always talking to my friends while walking down the road, or doing something- Cleaning my room haha.
    But today walking home from school, i listened to this song and it nearly made me cry because of the lyrics.

    To me this song means you try so hard to be happy, but you can’t you lose faith in God, but you’re holding on a little bit of faith, that somehow you will get to that path again. YOu hide from people and show the facade that fools everyone around you.

    You probably can tell…this has happened to me…i lost so much faith because of my struggle with unhappiness., i barely know if God is there anymore, But somehow the words “It gonna be alright” from my good friend/ex youth paster said(hes gone back to america after 3 years ministering in my church in UK)helped me a little bit.

    Hahah…im sorry for writing so much crap to someone i dont know!.

  12. 12 elizabeth
    January 15, 2009 at 3:04 pm

    i think its about losing your touch with God and coming back weak..but barely having the strength to hold on but you do anyways cuz you know He has you..it’s amazing..i love lifehouse! i love the meaning!
    i would love to see these guys in concert! if they come to Georgia someone needs to let me know.!!
    [[peace.love.happy]]
    *elizabeth*

  13. 13 Kathleen
    August 28, 2009 at 11:58 pm

    Here is my perspective on the song Broken by Lifehouse. Originally I heard the song through the Time Travelers Wife commercials and downloaded it because I thought it was beautiful. I had been listening to the beauty of the song and the chords but never truly the words. Today I was speaking with my Aunt who asked, ” Is that a Christian song?” I said, “I’m not sure, but now that I think about it maybe…” Well I listened to the song and thought this is not the original “love song” I thought it to be rather a love song between God and man. However I still feel hesitant labeling this a Christian song because I’m attached to the concept of it being a love song for a man and a women. I believe that everyone’s circumstance is different and a lot of what is right or wrong for you and I has to do with intent of the heart. Unfortunately for me as much as I try to disconnect the idea of the song being for God I can not and still picture it as a love song between man.

  14. August 31, 2009 at 10:21 am

    Kathleen, interesting thoughts here. I hate labels even though we use them often 🙂 Not sure what you mean by labeling this a “Christian” song or not. The band’s not officially a “Christian” band so you might be correct in not labeling in that way however I think you might sell yourself a little short refusing to really think about the song because your first introduction to it was through a movie trailer. What if you first heard this on a TV commercial for medical equipment that helps elderly people in need of assistance with their breathalyzers?

    Call me crazy but I think right and wrong is right and wrong 🙂 I can rationalize whatever I want in my head to do what I want and say I “felt” that was the right thing to do and let’s be honest, a lot of people do that but that is not “right.”

    I think it’s great that it’s getting exposure from the Time Traveler’s Wife (which I’d like to see by the way) but I’d hate for that to get in the way with the real goodness of this song.

    My .02 cents.

  15. 15 Tarena
    December 19, 2009 at 3:15 am

    Worshipcity, you’re right. I’ve been reading up on Lifehouse because I’ve been trying to figure out what’s behind their songs for a while. They started out as a Christian band called Diffs Lucky Day(named after a friend who had just become a christian) within the Vineyard churches, but after a reshuffling of the members, Jason Wade has said he does not want to be labeled as a ‘Christian band,’ because “all of a sudden people’s walls come up and they won’t listen to your music and what you have to say.” in a rolling stone interview. He calls his music spiritual instead.

  16. July 21, 2013 at 10:20 am

    I think this is among the most important information for
    me. And i’m glad reading your article. But should remark on some general things, The web site style is ideal, the articles is really excellent : D. Good job, cheers

  17. July 25, 2013 at 1:34 am

    I am sure this post has touched all the internet users,
    its really really good piece of writing on building up
    new website.

  18. July 31, 2013 at 3:48 am

    Have you ever considered writing an ebook or guest authoring on other websites?
    I have a blog based upon on the same subjects you discuss and would love to have you share some stories/information.
    I know my subscribers would appreciate your work. If you’re even remotely interested, feel free to send me an e-mail.

  19. August 5, 2013 at 11:19 pm

    It’s not my first time to pay a quick visit this web site, i am browsing this website dailly and take pleasant data from here daily.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other followers

Categorical Listings


