05
Jan
08

BEER

Beer Wall

So the only thing funnier than Justin bringing a variety pack of Light beer and a variety pack of Dark beer to our couples small group party for his White Elephant Gift was me, “the pastor” walking home with it! HAHAHA!

So, with the biggest game of the year popping up on Monday I thought I might offer up my findings:

Stella Artois – Let’s get the nasty out of the way! A “Belgium Lager” is just not for me. It’s supposed to be a light beer but light’s not supposed to mean nasty grass. Too potent and too bitter.

Abita Bock – I was glad this one was here. It wasn’t bad but not as good as Shiner Bock which is delicious.

Harps – Same category as Sapporo and Bass but I believe a bit more of a bite. Why settle when you can have Bass or Sapporo?

Sapporo – Hands down my favorite right now. The label boasts: “Japan’s Oldest Brand.” Well you don’t get to be the oldest by brewing nasty beer! Clear, tasty, refreshing, just a great light beer!

Bass – My previous favorite. I haven’t gotten to it in this pack so I’m curious as to how it’ll compare to the Sapporo now that I’ve had it. Another favorite of mine is Red Stripe and we were at this “dine in pizzeria” place that carried “most domestics and a great selection of imports” so I ask for a “Bass or a Red Stripe” to which he replied, “Well we don’t have seafood sir.” HA! I have become a Beer Snob!

Abita Turbodog – My first introduction to Abita and way better than their Bock version. A dark beer that’s good as a stand alone drink. I’m really interested in Abita since they’re local down here!

Dos Equis Amber – I don’t know if they make bad beer south of the border? I mean you can’t go wrong with Corona or Dos Equis or Modela. I think I’m off the Corona high horse though and what the XX Amber brings to the table is more of a substance and again a stand alone beer that’s tasty by itself.

Beck Dark – Haven’t tried it nor heard of Beck having a dark.

Moosehead – Haven’t tried it either. I’m very leary of it because while in Chicago Ali tried a beer called Moosedrool. Sweet Lord I still crack up laughing remembering her face as she tasted it! I’ve got it around here some where!

NOW, let’s be clear here people: I am NOT advocating drunken disorderly conduct! AND this should be another fine time to have one of those disclaimers that lawyers write up stating that the ramblings on this blog are the sole thoughts and ideas representing me, myself, and I and do not represent River Community Church in any way shape form or behavior 🙂
However, I’m over my Baptist upbringing guilt over dancing and drinking. Beer can be just as enjoyable as certain types of food but hey, you’re not going to eat 9 pieces of cheesecake and finish it off with a dozen brownie bites are you!?!?! So let’s put things in perspective and have a good time while not being ridiculous.

Geaux Tigers!

13 Responses to “BEER”


  1. January 5, 2008 at 1:33 pm

    I’m disappointed that Moosehead is the only Canadian beer listed. Most of that other stuff is basically (badly) flavoured water.

    Get your hands on some Rickard’s Red, Sleeman Honey Brown or Waterloo Dark and you’ll be in for a treat!

  2. January 5, 2008 at 2:11 pm

    Paul – yes Red Stripe rules man.

    Chris – Ha! I’ve never even heard of those before. It looks like I’ve got some more tasting to do!

  3. 4 worshipguitarist
    January 5, 2008 at 8:59 pm

    Mmm, Shiner Bock…

  4. 5 Ali
    January 5, 2008 at 10:29 pm

    Yeah, it is my opinion that you should stay away from any beer with “Moose” in its name…ughhhh!!! So so terrible!

  5. January 5, 2008 at 10:47 pm

    Looks like Sierra Nevada and Newcastle are on deck for Monday night’s game with a possible Red Stripe! So don’t worry about the Moose Ali 🙂

  6. January 6, 2008 at 4:50 pm

    your disclaimer reminded me of don miller’s comments about growing up in this stodgy church where they disapproved of premarital sex because it might lead to dancing. haha

  7. 8 Brent
    January 7, 2008 at 9:00 am

    any beer with a widget is at the top of my list lately. (ie. Guinness, Kilkenny) …. MMMmmm creamy goodness.

  8. January 7, 2008 at 10:49 am

    I haven’t been a Guinness fan. Kilkenny just sounds interesting and would definitely be into trying out. Is it anything like Killians?!?!

  9. January 7, 2008 at 10:50 am

    HAHA Matt I just read your comment.

  10. January 7, 2008 at 11:48 am

    glad to hear someone else out there likes a good beverage every once in a while.
    we’ve moved from Georgia to New England for seminary and, wow, the drinking culture up here is very different…. more drinking but less drunks.
    weird, huh?

    its all about moderation. moderation. moderation.

    thanks for this truth for us all!

  11. January 7, 2008 at 2:39 pm

    Man, I have never had a taste for beer. I guess that’s a good thing on a few levels. I should tell you my camping-with-jack story sometime though… 🙂

  12. January 7, 2008 at 10:08 pm

    beer makes me puke, I’ll take wine please


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other followers

Categorical Listings


