09
Jan
08

Perspective

Are you bitter and lonely?

Do you sit at home in a dark living room with a Hungry Man and your cat watching The Best Week Ever?

Do you grumble at the old lady in front of you smelling like moth balls in the check out line who drops her coin purse and can’t move forward until she collects all the pennies?

WELL not any more! Now for the low low price of a moment’s reflection, you, YES YOU can order a Change of Perspective!

🙂

Here’s what happened last night: I say yes to far too many things, grant it I’m getting way better but it’s still a problem. So instead of enjoying an evening at home, I spend another almost hour on the road and an hour at the church on another evening during the week for our special River Kidstuf service we’re having this weekend because I’m the worship leader/dancer with the kids. It was a huge “waste of time.” I told our children’s leader that I couldn’t stay all night but I’d come and be supportive and run through my parts and stay as long as I could. We didn’t even run through the musical portions of the service at all! The entire evening was spent with the actors!

Did I:

  1. Piss and moan about what a waste of time it was for me to make it all the way back out to church for nothing!
  2. Smile yet secretly piss and moan to everyone else in a passive aggressive manner to ensure internal struggles and anonymity between the usual worship leader and team against the actors and director!
  3. Ponder why it was that God would have me spend a night away from my family to be at rehearsal!

Honestly, I entertained number 1 for about half the drive home (and it’s a long drive home too!) Then, something that our pastor touched on before Christmas snuck into my noggin and I began to ponder what purpose I could possibly have had to be present at a rehearsal where I was asked to attend but seemingly yielded nothing of benefit or relevance to me at all. I tried to think positively and honestly the rehearsal was chaotic and discombobulated and simply all over the place. I decided, being one who runs a rehearsal each week for our worship team, that I would ask our children’s leader her interpretation of practice and see if there was any way I could help.

And we had a home run folks! A quick change of perspective led to a great discussion this morning. There are alot of elements that our River Kidstuf service uses to which she doesn’t have a lot of experience in yet has felt it needed tightening up. She was wide open to feedback and we practically began finishing one another’s thoughts and sentences.

This is an easy principle, one I’m sure I’ll be tested more thoroughly on later, that by simply changing my perspective and truly believing that God has me where He has me for a particular reason or purpose can dramatically alter the way I view my circumstances. Now don’t hear me saying that I want a WHAT’S IN IT FOR ME? attitude about my circumstances, more of a WHAT’S IN ME FOR IT? or…WHAT AM I IN IT FOR? or…I suck at catchy slogans but you get the picture.

It’s fairly easy to get caught up in ME that I overlook what God’s got planned for others that He’s for some reason to include me in. Setting ME aside, allows me the perspective of what God’s got in store.  I missed my wife and kiddo, for the 1st time ever Chloe actually asked me to stay when I was hopping off the sofa from the TiVo-ed Charlie and Lola episode as I put my shoes on! It broke my heart! But I believe that practice did have significance and purpose and I’m glad I went.

1 Response to “Perspective”


  1. 1 scoots
    January 9, 2008 at 9:36 pm

    nice. it’s great to read and better to practice. i’ve also tried to gain a little perspective. particularly at work.

    thanks for the honesty


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


