15
Jan
08

Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles

So, I had to choose either watching tonight’s episode of American Gladiators or The Sarah Connor Chronicles and I chose the latter. I’ve got to admit that I’m hooked! I don’t know how long I’ll be hooked but I’m hooked! I watched last night’s episode 1st and I wanted to get through tonight’s immediately following. The 1st hour’s pilot being somewhat clumsy might have something to do with it however. It had it’s moment’s of shamefulness like Sarah’s coming on to the cop in the police car, the effects of the Terminator beating down the vault door, the new Terminator’s dry coverage of Arnold’s “Come with me if you want to live,” etc. It’ll be interesting to see the female dynamics with this, and I think that’s where they went in a smart direction! I think Leonidas’ wife from 300 was a good choice, I’ve been hearing nothing but anticipation over the Terminator chica that was in some SciFi goodies already but I was pretty impressed with Lena.

The 2nd hour got better. It felt more like I was watching the 1st hour of a movie. Which has me concerned about how long they can keep it up. I thought it was enjoyable and whether or not it will be memorable will only be revealed in the coming episodes (of which I believe we have 7 more?)

The time warp thing seemed a bit unnecessary but I imagine it’s because of the sequencing of the movies. Obviously, the 1st hour is taking place after T2, I’m wondering if the time warp helped them skip over the 3rd movie. I can’t exactly remember the details of that one (wasn’t my favorite) and so it’s got me wanting to go back and watch to see if that’s what they’ve done here. I’m just glad the whole time warp thing is over and done with.

Anyone else tune in? Felt it was an abomination to the originals? Loved it entirely? Or were you too busy watching Hulk Hogan and the other guys in tights 🙂

10 Responses to “Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles”


  1. January 15, 2008 at 8:38 am

    I watched it. Wasn’t the greatest, but wasn’t the worst either. I’m willing to wait a bit and see if it improves.

    I also thought the 2nd hour was better than the first. Hopefully, as the characters develop it will improve.

    There were some funny moments, like the terminator trying to be cool. 🙂

    I’ll keep watching…. for now.

  2. January 15, 2008 at 9:41 am

    I was telling Jason today that I think it’s pretty good as a show that has history (T1, T2, T3), but as a standalone it wouldn’t be as good.

  3. January 15, 2008 at 10:25 am

    Fear not kids. I am assured that they only get better. I really enjoyed both, although I have to agree with Russ. This show has a bit of an nostalgic helping hand, in that it takes me back to my childhood. I loved the Terminator movies, and this just feeds my addiction and my craving since the 3rd (crap) movie came out.

    ****Shameless Plug*****

    Don’t forget to check out skynextpodcast.com. Also check out the sweet graphics on the site, the artist is the man (Tee Hee).

  4. January 15, 2008 at 11:04 am

    Oh Also…This negates T3. So just keep in mind that T3 never happened in this show.

  5. January 15, 2008 at 12:44 pm

    Ok thanks, that what I figured. I’m glad they’re ignoring that last bit of shenanigans with the 3rd movie.
    Yeah, the first hour was pure nostalgia for me. Rae was clueless as to what and who some people were and I was loving it!

    Yes, I hear the graphics on skynextpodcast.com are top notch. “Whoever” is doing them is incredible!!!

  6. 6 Dan
    January 15, 2008 at 2:56 pm

    I totally love the fact that they got rid of T3 and the story took off after T2. I never was a big fan of that movie…

    I found this site where you can transform yourself into a Terminator and put it into the bank vault scene from episode 1……it’s pretty funny!

    Go to http://www.getterminated.com

  7. January 15, 2008 at 3:45 pm

    I saw a little bit of it, but wasn’t pulled in although I really did try. I ended up in the room with the POD xt (my new favorite musical toy).

    I’m hoping to be able to catch the new gladiators though. I keep missing it.

  8. January 15, 2008 at 3:54 pm

    Dude the new American Gladiators is HILARIOUS! It’s awesome.

  9. January 15, 2008 at 7:07 pm

    FYI, I just noticed that itunes has the pilot episode of the Sarah Connor Chronicles available for free as a download. Thought you might light to know. 😉

  10. 10 nerdchieftain
    January 17, 2008 at 7:41 pm

    You can also watch the show free at http://www.fox.com/fod/


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


