21
Jan
08

Cloverfield Discussion in Comments

Cloverfield movie poster

Just as the title suggests, I’d love to discuss Cloverfield with everyone who saw it this weekend, especially the freaks that saw the midnight showing Thursday evening/Friday morning: I WAS WITH YOU IN SPIRIT!

So if you have NOT seen Cloverfield yet then I wouldn’t recommend reading the comments otherwise you might learn something you perhaps didn’t want to learn before seeing the movie.

I’ll start with my review:

29 Responses to “Cloverfield Discussion in Comments”


  1. January 21, 2008 at 10:39 am

    I thought the movie was rad! I will tell you there was a time in the beginning when I was like: SWEET LORD WHEN ARE WE GETTING TO THE MONSTER THINGY?!?!?! Fortunately, Hud’s innocent flubbery behind the camera was just that: more innocent than annoying. And once the monster thingy showed up, it didn’t stop!!

    I loved the concept: that we were watching some footage found at the “wreckage site previously known as Central Park.” I thought that was awesome. Especially how the spliced footage gave you some insight as to why there was the tension b/w Rob and the girl, Beth? I don’t remember her name. I thought that was cool. I even loved the ending that way. It made me feel a teeny bit more happy at the end 🙂

    I enjoyed being shown glimpses of the creature and then we got a fair amount of shots of what it actually was! Although I still don’t know what it actually was 🙂 My only gripe however is the OFFSPRING SPIDER CREATURES. It’s like JJ Abrams was witty enough to know they’d take the tunnels and thought: hell how’s a giant creature going to get to them down there?! I KNOW! Crazy spider creatures will jump off it’s back and chase them down there! While it added the craziest suspenseful wild scene of the movie it was a bit odd as I left the theater and thought about it. (Honestly, when it was happening I thought we were witnessing a monster taking a dump in the middle of NYC! HAHAHA.)

    Anyone else?
    Anyone glad nobody made it?!? HAHA.
    Anyone hate it?

  2. 2 scooter
    January 21, 2008 at 11:13 am

    I didn’t hate it. But I certainly didn’t love it either. It was mildly entertaining, yet somewhat nauseating (and I do not mean only because of the hand held camera effect 🙂

    I love JJ Abrams. I loved his work on Alias (until the last season when Jennifer Garner was pregnant in real life and they had to tidy up really fast, not only the season but also the series, minus the typical girl ass-kicking action) and I love LOST.

    This just seemed to barely touch the surface of suspenseful, for my taste anyway.

    A couple of major disappointing points, I didn’t like how the gang trekked for hours across town and climbed 50-something flights of stairs, jump across an unstable building….to save Beth and once they do, it appears she has a rod of some sort through her chest…..which this team of 20 something’s pull her off of…and yet with in minutes she is able to climb down 50-something flights of stairs and run across town for another few hours. Did anyone see a trace of blood?? (and how did Beth get home from the party so quickly and comfortably slip into her PJ’s when the monster attack started on her side of town??) (did I miss something??)

    I do however agree with you Conner on the start and end of the film. I loved the beginning and the feeling of watching it as a “top secret file” and the ending of not really knowing…..do we see “Cloverfield, the Undiscovered Files” in the future??

    That’s my two cents.

  3. January 21, 2008 at 11:17 am

    New Lifehouse song on my bloggy blog

  4. January 21, 2008 at 11:49 am

    Yeah Donna I forgot about that. I told Rae on the way home: if she had a rod that was completely THROUGH her! She would have bled to death by the time they got to the bottom of the building!
    There are a few things you’ve got to let go to make it work I suppose 🙂

    I don’t think its reasonable to think that those few friends would risk their lives for their buddies one night stand!

  5. 5 Rae
    January 21, 2008 at 12:06 pm

    It was ok for me. It was entertaining but I did get nauseous towards the end. Whether it be the popcorn, coke and nachos for dinner followed by a wiggling camera or all that and I am 8 months pregnant. Who knows!! I could have done without all the douchbaggeries in our theater as well but overall, a good movie.

  6. January 21, 2008 at 12:19 pm

    I liked it a lot. I had been warned to sit farther back in the theater because of the jerky camera. It actually had MORE jerky camera than I expected…a few times it made my head hurt.
    But just the vibe of total immersion into what’s going on was amazing. I mean, really. If you were there, no one would be telling you WHAT it was or WHERE it came from, you’d just be running for your life.
    The 9/11 moments were a bit surreal and disturbing…but if you’re gonna destroy New York, you’re gonna go there.
    I’m just amazed at some of the shots they did…and the fact that they made it look like a home video made it that much more believable.
    And I loved the spider creatures. I figured they were some sort of parasites living off the big guy that found some good eatin’ down below.
    My only confusing moment…what exactly happened to the chick that got bitten by one of them. Did she explode or something?

  7. 7 Ali
    January 21, 2008 at 12:28 pm

    Conner, Conner, Conner…did you not pay attention!? Beth was not just some one-night stand! She and Rob had been best friends since college and finally realized their love for each other. He lost his brother to the monster so he wasn’t going to stand by and lose her too without a fight.

    I agree with Donna that I was a little bothered by how much energy Beth seemed to have after having a rod through her chest.

    I already told you I was a bit bothered by how quickly they seemed to get from Spring Street to 59th Street. I’ll let that go though and chalk it up to Hud not “documenting” the whole trek through the subway tunnels. Though I find it very hard to believe they would have waited that long to figure out the camera had a light on it. (Spring Street, by the way, is MORE than 59 blocks south of 59th Street because it is about 3 blocks south of where the numbered streets start.)

    To be honest with you, the thing that bugged me the most was that Marlena was the first one in the credits. It didn’t appear to be alphabetical either so I couldn’t figure out why she’d be the first one. Obviously not a complaint about the movie — just something curious I noticed.

    Anyway, overall, despite a few “like they would/could really do that” moments, I liked it a lot. Once the monster showed up it was non-stop entertainment and suspense til the end. Good movie going fun — glad I saw it in the theater. I’ve got to say though that I’m glad we didn’t go Thursday night when they gave out the cameras. All those flashes going off in the theater would have made me want to punch someone!

  8. January 21, 2008 at 1:13 pm

    Maybe the flashes would have distracted from the jumpy camera. Could you imagine taking my picture when that bazooka missile flew overhead and I jumped like a little girl 🙂

    OK yeah they were friends since college, this was immediately following college right? I mean it worked, the splicing back to their ‘best day’ make it work, and I understood for Rob. I understood a little bit for Hud (maybe purely for the adrenaline documentary keeping with your best bud angle.) The girl that got bit would have been out ASAP!

  9. 9 Foo
    January 21, 2008 at 1:24 pm

    I thought the movie was pretty dang good. Not perfect, but good. I agree with everyone about the “rod-through-the-chest” business, too. Gimme a break…

    But, overall, I really liked it; it’s my kind of movie, shaky camera and all.

    I’m hoping for a sequel, too, ’cause I really, really, really want to know what the *#*# the monster is, and where it came from…

  10. January 21, 2008 at 1:41 pm

    Two syllable review: stupid.

    I didn’t like it much at all. Maybe it was my hunger combined with the shaky cam, but the towards the end, my head and stomach were bothering me.

    Too much stuff didn’t make sense in it for me. If I were even in a situation like that, I would drop kick a ‘friend’ who only documented the whole thing through and through.

    The entire film felt like it would be better as a Universal Studios ride. I would have enjoyed that more. Fire, monsters, shaking building. Get off the ride and say how cool it was. As a movie, it was too much of an extended gimmick.

    I would recommend The Orphanage instead (which I saw right before Cloverfield and liked better).

    Also, I probably would’ve kept my axe after killing that first bug. Also, what kinda battery did that camera have? Geez it lasted forever.

  11. January 21, 2008 at 2:42 pm

    HAHA oh that was actually a great review dude!
    I agree: Hud was about as useless as a wooden doorknob throughout the whole event. I also agree, I yelled at him for not keeping that axe! I mean come on they almost ate you alive in the tunnell!!

    Do most cameras come with night vision on them 🙂

    I want to see the Orphanage as well.

  12. 12 Aaron Crawford
    January 21, 2008 at 4:19 pm

    Speaking of where the monster came from, did anyone notice at the Coney Island Scene at the end of the movie, when they are looking out into the Ocean, right before it cuts back to them , something falls from the sky into the water? Anyone else catch that, no one I saw it with was paying attention and so i dont know if I imagined it or not….Space Alien mayhaps?

  13. January 21, 2008 at 7:02 pm

    Aaron, I TOTALLY saw that! And I wondered what it was, and if it was there on purpose…will be interesting to find out…

  14. 14 .phil
    January 21, 2008 at 7:35 pm

    I enjoyed the movie… I had never heard of it going into it so I had no idea what to expect. I agree there were a few hokey parts but isn’t that needed in any great monster movie?

    A few nit picky parts that I had was the time in the bottom corner, in the video that was taped over it was there the whole time, in the new one it was only there in the beginning, that for some reason has annoyed me.

    I would have liked it to have ended with Rob and Beth running from the camera where Hud died… a more opened ending as opposed to seeing them die.

  15. January 21, 2008 at 7:57 pm

    So the rod through Beth’s chest/shoulder was a piece of rebar. It was poking out of a block of concrete, I believe. Since it was coming from underneath her (she was laying, face-up on top of it), she would have had to have fallen on it, which seems a bit weird.
    What was more unlikely, even than Beth running around after having that rebar pulled out of her shoulder (if it had been her chest, then she would’ve had a punctured lung), was that our main characters survived a helicopter crash. There is no way they would’ve been alright after the helicopter fell that far before crashing.
    Those sorts of “unbelievable” parts aside, I was willing to suspend my sense of disbelief enough to thoroughly enjoy the move. The part where they were going down the street and just suddenly found themselves in the middle of the military shooting at the monster was awesome!
    Here’s a question too: were those gills on the side of the monster’s face when we finally see it up close?

  16. January 21, 2008 at 8:29 pm

    Looked like gills to me. First thing I thought of.
    And what’s your guess on the spider creatures? Baby monsters, or parasites ON the monster?

  17. January 21, 2008 at 10:32 pm

    Yeah dude could have been gills which makes some sense coming from the sea. I can buy it. Paul you could be on to something. Parasitic creatures are way cooler than mini-spider-offspring. I’d buy into that! Feeds into a sea creature type thing really well too.

  18. January 21, 2008 at 10:33 pm

    OH BTW did anyone stick around till after the credits? I’m hearing I missed something?

  19. 19 scoots
    January 21, 2008 at 11:17 pm

    after reading some of the other posts, i think it certainly came from the sea. Close to the beginning of the action, on the News, I believe they mentioned a ship being capsized. And it did look like gills to me too.

    we stuck around til the end of the end…..something is whispered but I couldn’t make it out??

  20. 20 scoots
    January 21, 2008 at 11:20 pm

    Conner – can you upload a pic of me…..there’s just this ominous white box next to my name. or can I???

  21. 21 Aaron Crawford
    January 22, 2008 at 12:29 am

    Supposedly after the credits, the phrase “It’s still alive” or something close to that is said backwards.

  22. January 22, 2008 at 12:42 am

    Hmmm Scoots, I’ll get on that. I don’t know if I can assign you an Avatar or not?

  23. January 22, 2008 at 9:47 am

    easiest way might be to head to gravatar.com and upload one there associated with your email address if you don’t have a wordpress.com account.

  24. 24 Dave W
    January 22, 2008 at 4:46 pm

    “There is no way they would’ve been alright after the helicopter fell that far before crashing.”

    Actually that is not far from reality. If the pilot, and he was a military pilot, remembered how his helicopter works, then he would have immediately put the drive shaft into auto rotate once they went into a spin. Also he would have put counter thrust on the tail blades.

    Pilots, especially military ones, practice this repeatedly before they are licensed to fly.

    Because they crashed on the soft grassy surface of central park, and by watching the film you can see that they didn’t just drop (evidence of the aforementioned procedure), they slid after impact, there actually was a good chance of survival for the passengers. That particular bird was built for transport and evacuation of not just soldiers, but dignitaries and state officials. The utmost care was put into the construction of the passenger compartment to minimize impact damage, however the cockpit was not so designed that way, due to the restrictions of being able to still fly the danged thing.

    Yes… I said danged…

    The pilots were in fact dead, and they were pretty beaten, but it is amazing with adrenaline will do. A massive burst of adrenaline will force the brain to release epinephrine, which a combination of the two will give you sudden energy, strength, and a great painkiller in the epinephrine, allowing even people with cracked ribs, broken bones, busted spleens, and so on, to keep on going. This is what I suspect would have actually happened in this case.

    I think that rob was pretty badly hurt, and would have died from internal injuries later on, but there was no way for him to realize that at the moment due to the monster trying to eat them.

    Ciao

  25. January 22, 2008 at 5:08 pm

    Haha! Thank you Dave. That’s one of the most unexpected posts I’ve had in a while 🙂
    Now, do you think the chick with the rebarb that stuck her like a pig would have been able to make it through the rest of the movie with poor ole Rob’s jacket simply stopping her from bleeding out?

  26. January 22, 2008 at 6:02 pm

    So if you’re looking for more “clues” as to the backstory. Check out:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cloverfield_%28creature%29
    Apparently there is a toy coming out of the monster, along with the “parasites” that fell off of it. 🙂

  27. 27 jdam
    February 9, 2008 at 3:32 am

    There are three things that disturb me about the film:
    1- That the “Dharma” symbol from LOST appears at the end of the Dod transmission at the beginning of the film.
    2- That the lotto numbers in the first season of LOST equals the release date of CLOVERFIELD. 4+8+15+16+23+42=108. Januart’08. Then divide 108 evenly by 6 and you get 18. —1/18/08.
    3- Abrams is already talking about a sequal and has stated that the monster in this movie is just a baby. A Baby???!!&*T&*)&%%!!! A baby that can knock over skyscrapers by tumbling into them?? If Momma shows up, all she’ll have to do is bend over and fart (should have the blast magnitude of a 40kiloton nuke)!!!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other followers

Categorical Listings


