22
Jan
08

This Day in Music – Phil Wickham HOW DARE YOU!

Phil Wickham

Will someone tell me just who the hell Phil Wickham thinks he is? I know I’m a little behind the time here because Cannons came out a while back in October of last year but I had some cash to spend from Christmas and thought I’d finally grab it. Here’s the problem I have with Phil:

  1. He tries to keep me captivated between The Myriad and the David Crowder*Band with just his voice and his guitar AND HE DOES! Sweet goodness those are 2 wild bands to be between and he pulls it off! So naturally I anticipate a folksy rocking CD full of great acoustic songs but I find out that:
  2. THE CD IS KILLER AND NOT ACOUSTIC! I mean wow! I know the dude must write his stuff on the acoustic but I couldn’t have imagined the completeness of the songs that were to be found on Cannons. I couldn’t imagine the arrangements that were so much more than wonderfully crafted acoustic songs!

So he carries this odd mixture of pop sensability with folksiness with odd new age rock and just mounds of ‘gusto’ that I’m just eating up for my post-Christmas slump. His lyrics and his melodies are just super. My only complaint is that I haven’t given the CD to truly take form and get an overall sense of the thing. Everytime I put it in I try to catch songs that I haven’t heard before and I truly haven’t even been able to digest the whole CD a time through or make it through all the songs several times. So far though, the initial tidbits I’m getting are driving me crazy! I think it will be one of those CDs that I can pop in and drive to New Orleans with or (as I’ve done) pop in and get my fill driving across town as well.

For those who’ve waited longer than I have: I highly recommend this CD. Maybe because my expectations were so low, it’s available on iTunes now for just $7.99 even! But man it was a great choice!

10 Responses to “This Day in Music – Phil Wickham HOW DARE YOU!”


  1. January 22, 2008 at 9:33 am

    I just got Myriads first ablum. Looks like I’m going to have to buy another album now…

  2. January 22, 2008 at 10:38 am

    I cannot recommend this album enough. So far, it is the only album I’ve ever been compelled to review. Like you, I was completely drawn in when I heard him on the Crowder tour. (Got to meet him too, and he’s such a humble guy. I love it when folks with massive talent are humble.)

    I was kind of in the opposite situation. I got the album, and wasn’t really all that sold on it, mainly because the mix sounded horrible on my car stereo. After the concert, I was so in awe of the song Cannons, that I ripped it to my iPod, got out some better headphones, and heard the real thing. Now, I can’t wait to introduce Cannons to the congregation.

  3. January 22, 2008 at 11:20 am

    Haven’t heard it yet but I might try and give it a listen.

    I was trying to find some new music with some itunes money I had gotten for my birthday. I was deciding between the Myriad and The Bravery or Lovedrug, and ended with The Bravery.

  4. January 22, 2008 at 12:36 pm

    HAHAHA! That’s hilarious, out of those 3 I would have recommended The Bravery last 🙂 How do you like them? I haven’t heard their new stuff.

    Yeah Jeff, we saw The Remedy Tour in New Orleans at the House of Blues and somewhat through Crowder’s set I turn around and there’s Phil standing right behind me. Just standing in the crowd enjoying the show. It was one of those double take moments. My wife turned around and said, “Huh, he’s cuter up close.” It was funny.

  5. January 22, 2008 at 12:48 pm

    I was looking for something a little different and it stuck with me. I like it.

    He has a unique voice and I liked the melodies and style of their music. Lovedrug lost out because the guy’s voice just came across a little too whiny and I wasn’t feeling that at the moment. The Myriad only had an EP that cost the same or as much as the other albums and minus a lot of the whiny inflections, sounded similar to Lovedrug vocally, so the Bravery ended up winning out.

    Now, if anyone would like to grace me with an itunes gift card, I will gladly check out the others. 😀

  6. 6 Brian
    January 23, 2008 at 12:50 am

    For those who live in California, the following dates will be with the full band.

    Feb 10 Phil Wickham – Buena Park, CA
    Feb 16 Phil Wickham – Sixflags
    Feb 17 Phil Wickham – Pasadena, CA
    Feb 22-24 Phil Wickham – Lake Arrowhead, CA
    Feb 27 Phil Wickham – Costa Mesa, CA

  7. January 23, 2008 at 11:01 am

    OH MAN! I’m jealous!

  8. January 26, 2008 at 5:09 am

    This post made me laugh.

  9. April 15, 2008 at 3:03 pm

    Imagine seeing him full band? 🙂


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


