28
Jan
08

3:10 to Yuma Discussion

10 to Yuma

Well I had a ton of fun with our Cloverfield discussion and I know I’m a bit behind the craze surrounding Yuma but it still must be strong b/c Blockbuster is almost constantly out of stock of this movie! So here we go:

I must say that my initial expectations were pretty high. I had read a lot already how this movie as well as some other incredible Westerns made last year have really breathed new life into the genre. Plus, have you seen the cast!?!?! Russell Crowe, Christian Bale, Ben Foster, Peter Fonda, Alan Tudyk, Luke Wilson (snicker..heehee) and the stunning Gretchen Mol and Vinessa Shaw. So needless to say THERE WAS SOME HYPE! But I remained calm because I am far too often let down. No hype means no let down if it’s a stinker. Regardless, I loved this movie! It had so much going for it. Yes, it was a remake of an already great movie (apparently, I don’t know actually b/c I never saw it) but Russell Crowe and Christian Bale were incredible!

I think I was so intrigued by the little twist on the typical good guy/bad guy scenario. We have here Crowe’s Ben Wade character, the meanest, rottenest, nastiest SOB of the West and which Crowe is amazing at as well! I mean it’s that bad guy that’s so terribly bad you really like him! But he’s not matched with this shining glowing American hero dressed in white, he’s matched more by someone’s who’s integrity perhaps is in such stark contrast but not his heroism. I mean let’s face it, Bale’s Dan Evans is pretty much a joke, a lame duck if you will in his community. But it’s the working man trying to do right by his family that’s so noble and admirable that in the end, Ben Wade even respects him. I absolutely loved it!

I did have to suspend my belief though a couple of times:

  1. Ben Wade’s capture – I mean jeez was he trying to get caught? We ultimately find out he’s been there and escaped 2x already but come on, that’s all it takes to catch this guy?
  2. The shoot out – I think that’s all I can say. I mean wow. I don’t think I’ve seen such a wild shoot out since Young Guns! I was really wanting some Bon Jovi blasting in the back ground 🙂

So what’d you think?

2 Responses to “3:10 to Yuma Discussion”


  1. January 28, 2008 at 5:38 pm

    So the only reason he was captured was because he allowed himself to be captured. And I did find it to be funny that we find out that he’d already been there and broken out before – that was a nice touch. The humour throughout was unexpected for me, and I really liked it.
    Altogether, I thought 3:10 was a great movie. I got to see it in theaters and want to see it again!

  2. January 30, 2008 at 9:38 am

    sus and i saw it on opening night, so it’s been a while, but we loved it. we’re so tired of the standard, “canned” movie where everything is played out and predictable. movies like this and “no country for old men” revive my faith in the movie industry. i’m still looking forward to “there will be blood.” it seems that owensboro gets movie debuts later than malaysia, unless its some big box office crap like “daddy day care” or something including eddie murphy or a wayans brother.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


