01
Feb
08

Get LOST – Season Premiere!

Lost Season 4

Well folks, we’ve had to endure SO MUCH crap to get here! FINALLY, despite the writer’s strike we get some Grade A, Top Shelf, high quality television here! So, in the spirit of the weekly The Office discussions, I’m bringing in Get LOST each week to discuss the preposterous, mind numbing event that is LOST! I know Alex is all over this (somehow/someway we need to hook one up together one week! That’d be a blasty!)

We’re not recapping the show here, we’re having fun discussing it so WHAT DID YOU THINK?!?! Was it worth the wait/the hype for you? Let’s break this baby down into 2 bits:

1. Past, Present, & Future -AKA another LOST recap – what a crock! I mean sheesh! Where was the Future? They basically took the 8:15 recap and stretched it out to an hour’s worth of TV and replaced the dead pan narrator chick with Ben! I’ve got to say though, Ben tells stories like nobodies business. What I’d give to hear him read Shel Silverstein or something like that!  However, Ben’s description as the Island as a way of starting over: Kate without a wrap sheet, Sun and Jin able to have a child, Locke able to walk, etc. a way of redemption or salvation for some was eery and couple that with the obvious remorse by Hurley and Jack for leaving. I’m just more amped to find out what the Island really is!

2. The Beginning of the End – My goodness this season is going to be nuts! It doesn’t look like we’re going to get one of those stagnant seasons like the beginning of last season! I was just so giddy the entire episode was just exciting. They hit the ground running and it was just excellent! I feel like we haven’t even stopped from last season. I also found it incredible that for every commercial break to fast forward through there was SO MUCH episode left to watch! That’s a great feeling. I totally felt fulfilled by night’s end 🙂 My primary thoughts:

  • The whole car chase set us up for the Flashforward/Flashback quandary!! Seeing Hurley get out of that car was crazy! Hands down my favorite character and this episode showed why. My heart goes out to him and he makes me laugh my head off as well as well up with tears. When he broke the news to Claire…um…wow…only to be outdone by, “I’m following my friend! Charlie,” and concluding with the remorseful apology to Jack. Dude.
  • Naomi’s dissappearance and split trail kind of pissed me off, THERE IS A KNIFE STICKING OUT OF YOU BACK, it’s the middle of the day, with the sun shining down on you! But hey, we’re on the island so really anything goes kind of. An interesting plot line with Russo sticking with Ben is simmering. It’d be a bit of a letdown if she bites his warning but her primary regard is for her and her daughter so I suppose safety will trump deliverance.
  • We find our Losties in quite a predicament with Locke’s troup and Jack’s group. Apparently, Locke’s group doesn’t work out the way he intends, if Hurley is sorry and remorseful for choosing his group over Jack’s and I’m antsy just thinking about what’s about to ensue. THANK GOODNESS Jack put Locke to the ground! I’m not a huge Jack fan but man that gave me some satisfaction.

My prediction: the “future” that we’re seeing these Flashforwards will most likely reveal just as much if not more about this season than anything else. I imagine it’ll take them all season to reveal who the other 3 survivors are: Hurley, Jack, and Kate seem to be alive. I can’t tell if I’m over analyzing this or not but I ponder if the “future” is really the future at all. We know Hurley has a history of hallucinating but I’m not buying into it quite that easy, it’s too neat 🙂

11 Responses to “Get LOST – Season Premiere!”


  1. 1 fakeid781
    February 1, 2008 at 7:43 am

    Russo isn’t really stickign with Ben as much as she is staying on the island. When they were walking to the radio tower I think she said she planned on staying there, that the island was now her home.

    I was a big fan of Russo hitting Ben when he said, “I don’t want my daughter to be killed.” 🙂

  2. February 1, 2008 at 7:58 am

    Dude i will comment tomorrow night…hate to DVR this sucka

  3. 3 scooter
    February 1, 2008 at 10:03 am

    okay…these are such small points….really…..considering the amazing season opener last night BUT a couple points that stuck out in my head:

    1) The Oceanic 6 that Hurley referred to??? who are they? Hurley, Jack, Kate?? And who was Kate referring to when she said “he will wonder where I am”?? Sawyer?

    2) Russo delivered her baby on the Island yet lived?? Did I miss something, has that been addressed?? Was she given the meds to save her life?? Maybe I did miss it – if so – enlighten me please 🙂

    Few other thoughts:
    My heart went out for Hurley.
    Who’s in the coffin damn it!
    And do they really get off the Island??
    Was I the only one that jump off my seat when Locke’s eye popped on the screen! GEE WHIZ!
    And he was in Jacob’s house, right??

    My thought is the “rescuers” are a group of scientists who have searched for The Island, maybe connected all along? Maybe not??
    These six weeks are going to go by soooo fast!

    Keep this up Conner – we can have a once a week LOST discussion group 🙂 everyone seems to pick up on things that others do not.

  4. February 1, 2008 at 10:21 am

    Yeah all Rae and I talked about last night was: WHO ARE THE 6?!?!

  5. February 1, 2008 at 10:26 am

    (That was weird allow me to continue…)
    Yeah we have Hurley, Jack, and most likely Kate. So who are the other 3?!?!?! That’s going to kill me! B/c if Sun and Jin make it then that only leaves room for 1 more person but I want Claire and Aaron to get off! But that would only leave room for 1 more person! And I’m not sold on Kate being with Sawyer in the future.

    I think Russo delivered on the island but the question is whether or not she got pregnant on the island and I don’t remember? Claire delivered Aaron just fine but we have a crisis with Sun: either find a cure or get off the island or we loose Sun! That would make me sad.

    I don’t know if the “rescuers” are “Scientists” however I think they have a clue about what makes it so special and probably want to exploit it.

  6. February 1, 2008 at 10:55 am

    Here are my thoughts.

    The Oceanic 6: Jack, Kate, Hurley, Aaron, Jin, Sun, Sayid. I know that is 7 but Aaron doesn’t count because he’s a baby.

    The him that Kate is referring to at the end of season 3 is Aaron. She is taking care of him for Claire.

    It was Desmond’s eye in the cabin. Also Jack’s Dad was sitting in Jacob’s chair. He might even be Jacob.

    That’s a good point about Russo having the baby on the Island. I think that is why they took Alex away from her. They have probably been studding her ever since.

    I also think the guy Hurley met in the mental institution was Smokey. He looked like Yemi Echo’s brother. We’ll learn more about this guy later.

    Written on Charlie’s hand in Hurley’s freak out in the irrigations room was “They Need You”

    This whole “short” season is going to be a slow reveal about who got off the Island and how they have to go back.

    Michael is coming back.

    Discuss….Discuss

  7. February 1, 2008 at 11:18 am

    I don’t think Jin will make it, it’ll be some crazy sacrificial expression of love for his wife and baby that he’ll make sure they’re able to leave by giving up his life. (Dramatic and tense makes for good TV.)

    I agree that I think that was Jack’s Dad as Jacob…Desmond’s eye? Hmmm.

    Did Michael ever leave?!?!?! Could Michael leave? Desmond couldn’t…hmmm??

  8. 8 Ali
    February 1, 2008 at 11:56 am

    I’m with Superman. I was thinking last night (after our conversation about it, Conner) that maybe the “him” Kate refers to is Aaron and that for some reason Claire didn’t make it.

    So, my 6: Jack, Kate, Aaron, Hurley, Sun and Desmond. It saddens me to not put Jin on that list but I can totally see them killing him off. Though you make a good point, Conner — where are Michael and Walt?? Could they be in the 6? And if so, who do you take out?

    I’m pretty sure that Russo was pregnant BEFORE her boat crashed on the island.

  9. 9 scoots
    February 2, 2008 at 8:05 pm

    Desmond was sailing in from the looking glass. i don’t think it was his eye. of course this is “The Island” and everything is possible.

    Interesting to think that Jacob is Locke’s dad…mmmmmm

    Just throwing it out there – my six – Kate, Jack, Sawyer, Hurley, Sun and Desmond.

    no reasoning for that.

    The person in the coffin, still a mystery to me….can’t even begin to think of who it is, except maybe Michael?? Leaving Walt on the Island…

  10. February 3, 2008 at 3:47 pm

    No Jacob was Jack’s dad…his dead dad. That is interesting!

    My six: Jack, Kate, Hurley, Aaron, Sayid, and someone obscure like Bernard.

    I do think Desmond will get off but by another means or way and won’t be included in “the 6” and I think if Jack gets off then it means Sawyer won’t. I don’t like Michael and therefore don’t want to include him and Walt in my “6”.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


