11
Feb
08

Worship Textfessional – Feb 10

This was a River KidStuf weekend so it was “short” services on Sunday. Here’s what happened:

  • Everlasting God – A – Lincoln Brewster style
  • O Praise Him – G – David Crowder*Band
  • Glory in the Highest – A – Chris Tomlin
  • Tasting Forgiveness – G – Robbie Seay Band

So, like I said, short Sunday. Only 3 songs up front. We actually rolled announcements on the screen during the offertory time and I played Hillsong United’s Introduction via the iPod. We finished up the message and began communion and we played Tasting Forgiveness while people down hoping that “maybe this time the bread and the wine would be more than food on my lips” as they tasted forgiveness 🙂 I just love that song! Plus it was a great fit with Garnett’s message.

YET I MUST CONFESS…I’ve heard it said that: speakers should speak and singers should sing. Sometimes though I decide to throw caution to the wind and disregard that little nugget of wisdom. Mostly it works, usually because I feel either led to say something about the song we’re about to do or have just done, or because I’ve prepared a scripture reading or something…not this time. This was classic Winging It 101 and it was disastrous! It had the best intentions: our Middle School group Impact takes up the 1st two rows on the right side of the sanctuary in the 1st service and they were excited that morning and totally into things. I really missed them in the 2nd service but some jabber rambling nonsense poured forth from my mouth and I just couldn’t stop. It felt like I had jumped from a plane without a parachute and there was no recovery until I hit bottom and so it went. I don’t even know how we got to O Praise Him. Maybe I just started playing. Awful.

The upside was Glory in the Highest is just a righteous song and although we had a bit of floundering around in the intro (again in the 2nd service) that song is just so simple and so powerful that by the time it was over I don’t think anyone could have possibly remembered the shenanigans of earlier. I was saying I wouldn’t do any more Tomlin tunes for a while but that song is just to great to pass up.

So Church Concentrate: River Community in a hour or less is how it goes on River KidStuf Sundays. Normally scheduled programming back on track this weekend 🙂

5 Responses to “Worship Textfessional – Feb 10”


  1. 1 snowjunkie
    February 11, 2008 at 1:01 pm

    I’ve just put up a video of how we do Everlasting God on my blog. I must find out how it differs from the Lincoln Brewster style…

  2. 2 scooter
    February 11, 2008 at 5:22 pm

    I LOVED LOVED LOVED the music yesterday. I think three songs is the perfect amount too 🙂 Not knocking the worship leader 😉
    And the announcements on the screen were GREAT, except they were a tad fast. Other than that, great worship service.

  3. February 12, 2008 at 12:45 am

    I still can’t believe you prefer 3 songs…that’s amazing 🙂

  4. 4 snowjunkie
    February 12, 2008 at 1:22 pm

    Yeah, this deserves a separate post/poll. How many songs do people like in a normal service? I personally think 3 songs is too short normally – ok for special events where other activities are happening like drama/dance/etc.

    So, ask the question – if you don’t, I will!

  5. February 12, 2008 at 4:25 pm

    Dude, how ironic! We had this discussion last night at our couple’s group and I was actually surprised by the response! I’m on it!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other followers

Categorical Listings


