12
Feb
08

Passion – God of This City The New Stuff

As far as the “new” stuff goes here are my thoughts:

Tomlin’s God of This City & Sing, Sing, Sing – I really appreciate God of This City. It’s anthematic and I like that Tomlin’s using someone else’s material. He did it with previous releases Awesome is the Lord and Indescribable and I imagine it’s so he stays fresh and dodging the rut bullet (unless that’s too late.) Sing, Sing, Sing isn’t as bad as Party but not his finest. It grows on me.

Christy’s Hosanna – If there are angels among us, one of them is Christy Nockels. My word, her voice is like butter! However, this is a song that proves my point of why guitar solos matter in worship. The bridge for me dies a bit. I don’t know if it’s because I know what United does there and it excites the bejezums out of me or what but I loose a bit when Christy’s not singing there.

Kristian’s Beautiful Jesus – At first I thought this would be a sappy love song just about Jesus and not Rachael, but it works. It’s the perfect prescription for a Praise and Worship song too! With acoustic, drums, and bass it’d be fine, with electric you’ve got all you need. It’s simple and great and full without all the extra hubub! Maybe the 1st one I do off this CD!!

Charlie’s Walk the World – I’d heard this one before at Thirsty so it wasn’t new but I have been waiting SO LONG for a copy of this song and I’m glad it’s here! I love Charlie’s new stuff! You Are God is basically new (if you don’t count the iTunes bundle) and these 2 songs are just perfect for me! I love them and love what Charlie and his band are doing!

Matt’s God of Our Yesterdays – Forgettable…I’m so sorry. I can’t make it all the way through. I just don’t get into it. I need to force myself I’m sure but it’s a big …ugh…to me. Probably the biggest let down of the CD. Dancing Generation has been just a great youth song that I love and Shine works wonders in the right situations but this one is…I don’t even know I can’t make it through it 😦

I’m sorry but I’m totally jonesing for more Crowder, more Fee, and more Stanfill on these Passion CDs. Even more of Charlie and Christy. I’m not sure why there was so few of that on this CD. I think you had at minimum 2 songs to cut: Dancing Generation and Amazing Grace to give us some of that. Even Let God Arise could have been left off. NOT that there’s anything wrong with any of those songs but it’d have been nice to get some more.

I’m at a loss this time though because I didn’t go to any of the events that this CD is supposed to capture. Maybe the songs I’m suggesting to cut really created those events. Regardless, it’s a good CD again done by the greatness of Passion. There are still many who don’t know of Passion and what’s going on and this CD is going to blow their minds…and I pray it does 🙂

Yes Lord, walking in the way of Your truth we wait eagerly for You. For Your name and Your renown are the desires of our heart! 

The 26:8 declaration. May that be the end result of this CD.

5 Responses to “Passion – God of This City The New Stuff”


  1. February 12, 2008 at 11:56 am

    We used “God Of This City” this weekend. It came out at a perfect time. we were closing up a series on th Stewardship of Life and out focus has been on community involvement, so this song tied in nicely.

    I got to hear an interview with Giglio the other day and he talked about how this song was written in a brothel. Very moving.

  2. February 13, 2008 at 3:36 pm

    I just got it and Im with ya man…where is all the new music. Dancing generation…I love that song and do it, but that is like 3 CD’s ago from Matt…why would they not even use something new from him..

    odd stuff. I have to think that they weren’t doing just older stuff.

    any way…Charlie Hall new CD dropping in April…woot!

  3. 3 justi
    February 22, 2008 at 9:07 am

    You’re missing what worship music is. Why feel the need to critique it? God of Yesterdays is my favorite song on the CD. Maybe it’s because of some things I’ve been through in the past couple of years that it was a great comfort and was good to remember He is always there. You need to refocus on the fact that worship is a matter of the heart…not a particular style. You should be concerned with what Jesus thinks about it…since the songs are about Him. My husband is a worship leader, too, and we have to constantly remind ourselves of that.

  4. February 22, 2008 at 10:33 am

    @justi hey thanks so much for your thoughts on God of Yesterdays. I needed to hear that. I agree totally about worship being about matters of the heart. I don’t agree that we shouldn’t critique music. That’s what I’m doing. To me worship is a lifestyle, it’s not a song. And for me, too long “Christian music” growing up was severely dated to be blunt, kind of a joke in comparison to what secular artists were creating.

    I think it’s the call of Christians to be creative and to be in the forefront of whatever industry we’re in whether it’s music or fashion or whatever. I don’t think we should be able to do whatever we want and then slap Christ’s name on it and call it excellent. I think we should always examine, “critique”, asses the situation, tweak, and move forward. Passion has been great at this which is why I might critique them a bit heavier. They’re what brought me back around to Christian music and to worship music. I know they pursue excellence in their glorifying Christ’s name and I know they value the hard work at day’s end. I also know they’re passionate for reaching the college students of our nation so I look at them through a different lens than I would other artists.

    I agree totally, the heart MUST be in the right place but as a Worship Leaders I’d be worried if I wasn’t also pursuing excellence and asking the question: “Did it work?” But that’s the why I’m wired up I suppose.

  5. February 22, 2008 at 1:41 pm

    great response conner…well said.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


