12
Feb
08

This Day in Music – God of This City Discussion

I’ve been slacking a bit with the new music territory but it seems finally most everyone’s up to date with the fact that Passion’s got a new release. So why not discuss it? I gave you the setlist and video options already but what do you think? I think I’m a bit too close to the Passion crew for my own good. I can’t stay satisfied with these releases because there’s nothing new and what is new isn’t worth getting the whole CD. I mean seriously we have only 5 new songs here (I’ll give you Kristian’s because he’s not as well known,) we have 4 songs that have been on multiple releases, and 4 songs that have been previously released.

  1. Let God Arise – Chris Tomlin
  2. You are God – Charlie Hall
  3. God of this City – Chris Tomlin
  4. O, for a Thousand Tongues to Sing – David Crowder*Band
  5. Hosanna – Christy Nockels
  6. Sing, Sing, Sing – Chris Tomlin
  7. Beautiful Jesus – Kristian Stanfill
  8. Walk the World – Charlie Hall
  9. We Shine – Fee
  10. God of our Yesterdays – Matt Redman
  11. The Glory of it All – David Crowder*Band
  12. Shine – Matt Redman
  13. Dancing Generation – Matt Redman
  14. Amazing Grace (My Chains are Gone) – Chris Tomlin

All the previous released material was given a bit more gusto in the post-production or rerecorded but it’s still not enough. The one that stands out is what they did with You Are God. It really pops this time! For the Passion fan who isn’t obsessed and has all the previous releases I imagine this CD would be GREAT for them! It’s full and it does capture a real sense of what Passion’s doing. As Louie says, it captures a moment of Passion and gives it to you. However, I’m still thinking the highly favored Tomlin side of the equation is a bit much. Between Crowder, Fee, and Kristian we only get 4 tunes.

So what’d you think? I know the last full release fell on deaf ears by most. This seems like a noble attempt to rectify the situation. Did it work for you? Are you not SATISFIED?!?!

Total review of the new stuff coming up!

3 Responses to “This Day in Music – God of This City Discussion”


  1. February 12, 2008 at 1:55 am

    the impetus behind this CD seems to be capturing Passion Regionals to a nation of new Passion converts. So many want the songs from what they just experienced and instead of making them troll the net for the songs, the 268 just churns out this puppy to satisfy.

    It is a good CD I think because it does just what it is designed to do, capture the essence of Passion. God of this City is a great track, as is Hosanna and I think they hit a homerun with Crowder’s O the Glory of it all. It has so much more bravado than the Remedy version. The spirit moves on this album.

  2. February 12, 2008 at 11:19 am

    I think Louie and the Passion crew have accomplished exactly what they wanted , marketing and promotion wise. As said already, this was to give a glimpse of what Passion is and can be.

    I see this CD as a great introduction into the Passion movement for the uninitiated, or for those unfamiliar with modern worship in general.

    For me, someone who’s absorbing this stuff everyday, especially in light of looking for new and fresh stuff to share with others, it fell kind of flat. Like you said, only 5 new songs, and a couple of those sound just like stuff I heard a year ago, two years ago, etc.

    Have I turned into a worship snob?

  3. February 12, 2008 at 12:39 pm

    Ah Jeff you read my mind…Have I turned into a worship snob?!?!

    Yeah, as stated, I think this CD was totally intended to capture the vibe of Passion 07 and the 2 Regionals before this release. Newcomers of Passion probably don’t have all the iTunes bundles and individual recordings like I do. It’s got to be a tough line to walk: easy entry for newcomers and yet enough new fresh material for the old dogs like us 🙂

    Worship snob is going to haunt me all day today!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


