14
Feb
08

Community – Living with Freaks

Before you let out a sigh and “Crap here’s another person talking about “community” I think I’ll barf and go read something else more interesting” I just want to say…I probably have nothing new to add but I hope its interesting! Just don’t barf at the end of this post 🙂

“This most difficult lie I have ever contended with is this: Life is a story about me.”

Community is such a tricky thing because it can mean so many different things in this tech savvy world we live in. The line between our neighbors/friends/acquaintances/contacts are all very blurred. Just yesterday one of the coolest things happened to me that came from this blog. Out of the blue, I got a phone call from someone who reads this blog! People ask me all the time, “Why do you blog? I don’t get it.” For reasons of community I say. Which is true. If you don’t get blogging, goodness let me blow your mind with this thing called Twittering 🙂   And then I laugh and they have a puzzled look on their face.

But I think in a grander sense of the word, community is sharing life together and there is just so much we can share here together online. I am feverishly waiting to hear of Fred‘s son’s condition. I’m scared to get over to Los‘ blog and check out the Compassion update because I know I’ll dive into the content and get lost for the entire day and I have to just wait until I have more time this evening. But sharing life with those around us who we can touch, see, laugh, and cry with requires work. It’s hard most times. I think it really boils down to the offspring of pride. Sharing my story with someone can return me with ridicule or worse yet: complete apathy. When the story’s all about ME, those two responses are unacceptable! Someone who is disgusting to work with, rubs me the wrong way, voted for Clinton and eats Hot Pockets can be someone else’s project today, I have enough friends to keep up with without having to work hard for another one. Or perhaps it’s the example in the closing of Don’s chapter that rings out in my gut: Those people are so ungrateful every time I do something good for them why would I even bother sharing my time and energy with them?

Community certainly can happen all by it’s self but I’ve noticed that often times it requires us to be intentional with those around us. It’s awkward and uncomfortable at times. It doesn’t always end in friendship. However, our story isn’t all about ME. We aren’t center stage in the play about ME, MYSELF, and CONNER. I think I need to be better about this.

If we are not willing to wake up in the morning and die to ourselves, perhaps we should ask ourselves whether or not we are really following Jesus.
-Don Miller, Blue Like Jazz

2 Responses to “Community – Living with Freaks”


  1. February 14, 2008 at 12:15 pm

    Conner,

    You have been SpitBoxed. Find out more at http://www.SpitBoxMedia.com

  2. February 15, 2008 at 8:39 am

    This reminds me of one of the greatest stories I ever heard. It was by Nicole Nordeman inbetween songs in a concert.

    Basically she said that we need to be willing to “get our hands dirty” in our relationships. Sometimes (and in her case) it can literally mean life and death.

    Great words today. (or yesterday….)


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other followers

Categorical Listings


