21
Feb
08

Worship Pre-Textfessional – Feb 24

Anyone with more experience than me what to fill me in on what happened to me this week? For some reason, this Sunday’s song selection surprises me yet seems right on. I mean it’s not exactly what I would choose…but I did. Obviously, there’s something supernatural about being a Worship Leader that I’ll never be able to explain, this weekend being one of them…and it’s not even here yet!

  • PreludeRescue is Coming or Here is Our King – David Crowder*Band
  • Let Everything That Has Breath – E – Redman
  • You Are So Good to Me – G – Third Dayish version
  • Lead Me to the Cross – A – United
  • Shout to the Lord – A – Hillsong
  • Post CommunionCome Thou Fount into Amazing Grace and back again – Drop D – Crowderish version

I mean yeah there’s a process and discussion and preparation and review that happens before I get to this point but I’m still surprised with half of these but excited to see how they’ll turn out!

In a nutshell this weekend’s selection went down like this:

  1. Discussion over what this weekend’s topic would be and Come Thou Fount and Amazing Grace are both great topical songs. We do a version that combines the two: no brainer.
  2. Because of the musicians this week and frequency of the last time played, I really wanted to do Lead Me to the Cross or Mighty to Save. Shout to the Lord was brought up by a guest vocalist for an idea and I like the way it follows Lead Me… so I decided on those 2, even though I downright despise playing Shout… but hey, it’s not always about me so I’m cool with it.
  3. I wanted an old familiar tune that the congregation loves and I like the way You Are So Good To Me ends thematically and thought it led into Lead Me… quite well.
  4. Why oh why did LETHB pop into my head? It’s not a favorite of mine, not a favorite of the band’s, we haven’t done it in ages but for some reason I just couldn’t shake it. But I really like the way it starts the morning. I just don’t understand how it got there.
  5. The prelude was amidst everything else. HIOK is the default but I really, really, REALLY want to give Rescue a go and see if we can pull it off without loops and zaniness. I’ll let you know.

Anyone?

7 Responses to “Worship Pre-Textfessional – Feb 24”


  1. February 21, 2008 at 11:48 am

    Yes something supernatural. Maybe it will become more clear to you after Sunday. : )

    But this sounds like a natural worship progression (if you read the lyrics to the songs) how one song inspires you to worship more, and the next song touches your heart and makes you want to ” shout to the Lord” etc…

    b

  2. February 21, 2008 at 7:54 pm

    Hmmm… interesting question.

    After leading worship for over three decades (yikes!) I’m sometimes surprised myself by how a particular set list comes together for any given service. Trusting the leadership of the Holy Spirit is obviously not an exact science. Because of that, on some occasions we don’t even end up playing the songs that we worked so hard on in rehearsal! Go figure.

    Your post today did actually get me thinking about how we “Worship Leaders” do what we do week by week. (What an amazing thing it is that we get to do, right?)

    Anyhow, none of what follows is necessarily ground-breaking or profound. Rather, it’s just some random thoughts that were prompted by your post today.

    Hope some of this makes sense:

    1. Practice personal worship and prayer. (Remember, we’re private worshipers long before we’re public Worship Leaders.)

    2. Don’t be afraid to use familiar songs. (A song that seems “old” or “stale” to us may have a much longer “shelf life” for those in our congregation.)

    3. Emphasize God-centered songs. (Lyrics to some worship songs written today make me think that I could be singing to my date at the High School Prom instead of to the Sovereign Lord of Glory!)

    4. Use a variety of musical styles and lyrical themes. (1-4-5-1 chord structures on an acoustic Taylor guitar are great and all but our God is a God of amazing diversity. Don’t be afraid to expand outside your preferred musical style, taste or genre.)

    5. That said, try and stick with musical arrangements that will not distract the congregation. (For example, varied time signatures within the same song might sound cool but could end up confusing your congregation. “Wait, just a second ago we were clapping on two and four. Now we’re clapping on one and three! What just happened!?”)

    6. Strive to know what members of your congregation are going through personally and then consider selecting songs that may help them better connect with God. (Practice being a “Worship Pastor” and not just a “Worship Leader.”)

    7. Generally, spoken song introductions should kept very brief. (Avoid the phrase, “This song is about….” If it’s a good enough song, they’ll know what it’s about!)

    8. Lead the people, don’t “drive” the people. (The Holy Spirit is ultimately the only true “Worship Leader.” When the congregational response is not what you were anticipating, just invite them to make much of God and avoid “fussing” at them when you think they’re not.)

    9. Instrumental solos should flow prophetically. (Just because a guitar solo sounded cool in rehearsal doesn’t mean that it should occur each and every time that that song is used. Listen to the Spirit and trust His leadership.)

    10. Rehearse how songs begin and end. (Your congregation will not know how to follow you if you don’t know how to start or stop. On the flip side, it could make a great upload to YouTube!)

    11. Also practice transitions and modulations. (If you take time to learn chord progressions and lyrics, it equally makes good sense to learn how to transition and modulate smoothly.)

    12. Don’t be afraid of silence. (Less really is more… see?)

    Thanks.

    David Guion

    http://www.one4worship.com/

  3. February 22, 2008 at 9:58 am

    i found my subconscious picking songs about God’s creation this week (inspired by the lunar eclipse i think). hope this sunday is a blessing to God!

  4. February 22, 2008 at 10:22 am

    Wow guys great posts! I love this. Thank you.

  5. February 24, 2008 at 10:41 pm

    Conner,
    Yeah great set. I try to be intentional about how I pick songs and the order they go in, but honestly sometimes I’m just looking for something that band scheduled that week is remotely familiar with. This week by no fault of my own I ended up with a pretty great set. (I blame the Holy Spirit.)

  6. February 25, 2008 at 12:29 pm

    So Conner…

    How did the song selection work out yesterday at church?

    Just curious.

    David Guion

    one24worship.com

  7. February 25, 2008 at 2:54 pm

    Worked really good David, finished up my VIDEO confessional and should be up by night’s end šŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


