29
Feb
08

Get LOST – The Constant

…I mean…uh…wow…

This was probably my favorite episode of the season! I mean WOW! I don’t know if it was because I thought last week was not only slow but mostly pointless or that we finally got off the island or that my brain imploded like 10 minutes in to the episode or WHAT but I was on the edge of the sofa the entire night just drawn in to the whole thing!
Honestly, there isn’t a whole lot to talk about! No Sawyer quips. No crazy Locke moments. No Jack/Kate/Sawyer triangle. No Sun and Jin. Nothing! This was ABOUT DESMOND & PENNY! He’s become such a key character without getting a ton of exposure that I love it! It’s one of these things I love about the show. There are so many great characters that we can go without seeing them for one week and become enthralled with them the next. For some reason I just care about what happens with Desmond and Penny. I really want them together! It must work out for them. I am drawn more to them than I am to Kate and either of her two romantic flings! The downside is that I totally missed my good ole boy Hurley and Penny’s mention of Charlie has me wondering why no one is mourning his loss. It’s like he’s gone and forgotten!

So time travel huh? But is that really what we’re talking about? They really swept under the rug the true conundrum of this episode and masked it with Desmond’s conscious time jumping phenomenon. It obviously doesn’t happen to everyone because Sayid and the pilot were totally unaffected. We all know the answer to Daniel’s question about radiation: Desmond blew himself up in the hatch! Dang right he was exposed! Which must mean Locke was exposed as well. Could this not bode well for John Locke in future episodes? I suppose it doesn’t matter since he doesn’t want to leave the island in the first place. I wonder though with Desmond leaving the island if some of his wild fortune telling visions will pass on to him?

So, for some people the crossing back to the real world sends them back to the past consciously where they must find a link or “constant” with their future selves in order to keep their brains from frying? Kind of weird. The phenomenon that really boggles my mind is the time jump to and from the island: it took the missile shot from the freighter like a half hour to reach the island. The helicopter was gone for like 20 minutes and it took them like 24 hours island time. What is up with that?!?! I’m really curious with what you numerologists are going to say about all this time jumping craziness between 32 minutes and so many hours and 8 years and so on. Is there a common thread between all of it? Is there a constant šŸ™‚

7 Responses to “Get LOST – The Constant”


  1. February 29, 2008 at 6:45 am

    I told my wife that I thought it was the best episode, period.

    It was everything that we love about Lost. Full of odd mysteries, weird connections between people, suspenseful.

    The writers also went with flashbacks again. No flashfowards, for the first time this season.

    Simply awesome.

  2. 2 worshipguitarist
    February 29, 2008 at 9:31 am

    Did anyone else get the Slaughterhouse Five connection – you know, the whole “unstuck in time” thing? One of the characters was even named Billy, after the main character Billy Pilgrim from the Vonnegut novel.

  3. 3 scoots
    March 1, 2008 at 12:09 am

    no LOST Fun/Conspiracy this week???

    For Fun –

    For Thought –

  4. March 1, 2008 at 10:56 pm

    @Chris no I hadn’t. Wow that’s alot of TIME spent. Geez. I couldn’t make it all the way through though it’s very interesting.

  5. 6 Dan
    March 4, 2008 at 9:43 pm

    OMG, same here bro… This episode was Amazing! The writers of this series never cease to amaze me.

  6. March 12, 2008 at 6:53 pm

    One of the main characters named Desmond has the ability to time travel. Whenever you have supernatural events or science fiction, time travel is always an interesting phenomenon to watch. The most recent episode titled The Constant explained the ability Desmond has.

    This episode of the HotConflict radio show discusses the concepts that have developed over the seasons of LOST.

    http://www.hotconflict.com/blog/2008/03/lost—religion.html


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


