29
Feb
08

I Want to BE Starbucks to My Community

My Starbucks knows my name. They greet me each morning with a smile and a greeting. They remember what I like. They ask me how my day is going. They joke around and have fun with me while waiting to finish creating my drink. They tell me what they’re doing in life. They come sit down with me in the big comfy chair on their lunch break (which incidentally is like at 10AM). They recommend music or books that they think I would like based on previous conversations we’ve had. They give me free stuff!

They’re also not always friendly. Sometimes they’ve had a bad day but they’re working through it. They’re not friends with everyone. They’re not friends with those who drink coffee on the other side of town, there’s another Starbucks for that. They close down for 3 hours with they need some time to themselves. They make mistakes. When they make mistakes they admit it and make up for their mistakes.

They change the mood I’m in. It starts when pulling into the parking lot. I get excited about seeing  Jeff, Ashleigh, Ali, Katie, Cody, and whoever else is going to be there that morning. Sadly enough, they reached out to me before I was friendly to them. Honestly, it’s why I continue to go there and pass up 3 other Starbucks on the way to work. I’ve taken my daughter there just so she can see where Daddy goes in the morning 🙂 I’ve taken my wife there so she can meet “my baristas!” and so my baristas can meet my pregnant wife I’m always talking about 🙂 That’s powerful! I want to do that. I want my church do that. Don’t you?

11 Responses to “I Want to BE Starbucks to My Community”


  1. February 29, 2008 at 12:44 pm

    I like this.

    Have you ever read Leonard Sweet’s book, “The Gospel According To Starbucks” . The whole intent of the book is to discover our passion for Christian living. I think you’d like it.

  2. February 29, 2008 at 12:54 pm

    “They’re not friends with everyone. They’re not friends with those who drink coffee on the other side of town, there’s another Starbucks for that.”

    🙂

    That does sound like most churches I know.

  3. February 29, 2008 at 1:19 pm

    I hope that came out right. I think that’s a healthy thing. I’ve got to understand that I can’t befriend EVERYONE. It’s impossible! I can be friendly to everyone! But I can’t develop a relationship with them ALL. Does that make sense?

  4. February 29, 2008 at 1:57 pm

    Very interesting concept – and I think it’s possible. I guess we could invite people into our homes or churches, or take our “Starbucks” version of life out to the streets and public when we greet them?

  5. 5 snowjunkie
    February 29, 2008 at 2:05 pm

    Hey… do you think you might take coffee a little too seriously? Afterall, it’s only a drink!

    😉

  6. February 29, 2008 at 8:54 pm

    I second brent….READ THAT BOOK

  7. 7 scoots
    March 1, 2008 at 12:10 am

    good insight and analogy conner.

  8. 8 snowjunkie
    March 3, 2008 at 3:54 pm

    Just so you know. I was kidding… I second scoots.

  9. March 3, 2008 at 4:12 pm

    @Snowjunkie there is absolutely, 100% no Kidding allowed on this here blog. I’m sorry 🙂

    I think Starbucks takes coffee too seriously, I think we take our own comfortability and personal space too seriously. You know I used Starbucks b/c I imagine people have the same experience there that I do. My Chick-Fil-A does the same thing when we walk in there. Some CiCi’s Coffee Houses do the same thing. And honestly some churches do this pretty well. My St. Arbucks though does it REALLY WELL 🙂

  10. 10 snowjunkie
    March 3, 2008 at 10:52 pm

    Chick-Fil-A -> Now you’re talking!

  11. June 4, 2009 at 10:31 am

    Hey,
    I like how you write… and I know what you mean. I have a starbucks community where I go too… Praise God for starbucks drinks and the people he has led to serve it with a smile and consideration 🙂
    Cheers!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


