04
Mar
08

Thumbs Up/Down – Leeland’s Opposite Way

Thumbs up LeelandOpposite Way – Apparently, Leeland’s never heard of the ‘Sophomore Slump‘ that most breakout bands fall prey to because this CD is a must have for those who enjoy great music! I knew it would take alot to get me over Sounds of Melodies and this disc really does it. I LOVE the new direction of the artwork. I LOVE when it pops up in iTunes and on display in my iPhone. I LOVE the flow of this CD. It feels like I have 2 CDs here with the way it moves. I LOVE the length of the CD: 11 songs is the perfect number of tunes! It rolls in under an hour, I’m left wanting more! I LOVE the sound of this CD! I LOVE the fact that its very memorable. Again, with the diversity and the melodies they’re distinguished enough that I can easily call up the tunes. They really upped the ante on this one I believe. Let’s take a closer look.

Count Me In is such a killer opener! They really know how to ramp you up for your listening experience. It’s moving and just has great guitars, great vocals, and a great feel to it! We get a taste of some of Leeland’s diversity as they move from guitar driving song to a piano led song with Let It Out. I love the message of this song (although that’s something I’m going to say A-LOT of this CD.) Enter this Temple has a real familiar tone to their 1st CD but the lift at the end of this song is unreal! What they can pack into 3 and 1/2 minutes is crazy. I LOVE Opposite Way. It’s an example of a good song made great by the different parts and workings of the song. Starts off with a great groove that allows you to be sucked into the lyrics and just when your bobbing your head and sucked completely in, you can feel it beginning to happen and then…oh over half way through the song it just begins to soar! The Edge would be proud of what they’re able to accomplish with well placed simple guitar riffs đŸ™‚

Then the CD almost starts over. I’m done after the 1st 4 tracks. I’ve had enough. I’m full. I’m satisfied but they just keep going. Wake Up & Don’t Go Away are great in your facers that keep some momentum through this latter part. Beginning and the End & Falling for You  keep a good groove going. Thief in the Night & May our Praise are simply dynamic tunes that work so hard for all their 4 minutes! They come in as the longest tunes but their just packed with so much its so worth it!

The guys of Leeland have obviously been working hard and seeking God making this CD. Go NOW HERE and get it.
Leeland’s Opposite Way

3 Responses to “Thumbs Up/Down – Leeland’s Opposite Way”


  1. March 4, 2008 at 12:43 pm

    Really starting to like this band. They and Coldplay have a U2 feel to them I think….could be insane?

  2. March 4, 2008 at 1:37 pm

    The last CD was great but some reason I didnt find myself listening to it all the time…I just got this one and cant wait..

    DUDE go get hyperstatic union

  3. 3 Dan
    March 4, 2008 at 9:37 pm

    This one’s still on my list to buy. Thanks for the insight!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


