07
Mar
08

Wilco Live Reviewed and Praised!

What an evening! There is just so much to be said for a Guy’s Night Out! There is also so much to be said for one that takes you down to New Orleans to catch Wilco! I mean where else do you eat at a place that boasts 400 beers from around the world and 40 on tap and is called Cooter Brown’s!?!?!

Cooter Brown’s

Despite what you think about the name, the place was awesome! I wish we had something like it here in Baton Rouge!

Wilco killed! Just killed! I was dumbfounded and floored all night long. Tipitinas is a mediocre venue at best but it’s intimate which was cool. Jeff’s awkward yet comedic banter with the crowd was well suited for a space the size of Tipitanas. The men of Wilco are beasts! They went on at 11ish and didn’t leave until nearly 2. CLOSE TO 3 HOURS OF MUSIC! They took a 3 minute break before coming back on for an almost hour long “encore!” I felt so old because my lower back and legs were hurting from standing in the same spot for 5 hours but my mind and soul were being invigorated by the madness on stage! I’ve seen some crazy acts like MuteMath and The Myriad and Crowder and guys like Papa Roach and Creed and yet I did not fathom the shear raw stage performance and experimental sounds that would come from these guys. Nels Cline is a crazy animal! This guy does stuff on the guitar that is insane and is a crazy at the same time! He’s just nuts. The man’s in his 50s and yet threw down like a kid out on stage on his first tour! I could not believe it!

Jeff Tweedy is just head and shoulders above the other musicians I typically listen to. The intricacies and layers of the songs he writes and then what happens live is surreal and together as a band, I’ve never seen a band so tight together! Every stop! Every punch! Were exact! His acoustic stuff is great. The recordings of Wilco are amazing. The live performance is spectacular. There’s a reason they played back to back nights in New Orleans and sold out both nights! There’s a reason they can pull of 5 nights in Chicago! It’s fun, it’s different, and you have a great time experiencing their music. The entire night I was struck by the movement of the crowd. Heads bobbing, feet bouncing to the beat, people fisting in the air, singing along, shouting along, DANCING to the music. It was a beautiful thing.

We were pretty close and so I snapped off these shots from my phone:

Jeff and Nells Nells and lap steel Jeff’s hollowbody Jeff and band

It’s interesting that you can’t get 2 different guitarists than Jeff and Nels. I mean Jeff is kind of frumpy and plays every color Gibson made in their SG line and just works this guitar. Nels was created to play guitar. His fingers look like spiders crawling across the fretboards of his Jazzmasters!  He’s my new hero.

My standout moment of the evening that I will forever remember is Impossible Germany. My favorite tune off Sky Blue Sky. It’s incredibly fluid and the instrumentation at the end of that song makes me dizzy. Live it’s 10 fold what the recording makes it out to be. When the band kicks in on the CD they play out like 15 seconds. Live those last 15 seconds is a good 3 more minutes and it hits you in the chest and there’s lift off that just sends you flying out with the music. It is surreal!

If they’re coming to a town near you don’t miss it!

4 Responses to “Wilco Live Reviewed and Praised!”


  1. March 7, 2008 at 1:15 am

    I can’t believe you missed LOST for this… Ha ha ha!
    http://betterthanblank.org/?p=1110

  2. 2 worshipguitarist
    March 7, 2008 at 7:05 am

    Dude, I’m going tonight. Your review makes me very impatient. 🙂

  3. 3 Jimbo
    March 8, 2008 at 3:36 pm

    I had a good time and yes, Wilco is a great band.

    btw… you didn’t mention John Doe’s killer cover of Gimme Shelter… Nels playing a Stones tune? Cool.

    What was that beer called again?

  4. March 9, 2008 at 10:55 pm

    Chipperwhick?
    Shenanigans?
    Sheppwhick?
    Chadwhick?
    I can’t remember!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


