09
Mar
08

5 Things You MUST Know Before Reading On

1. I’m no longer the Lead Worshipper of River Community Church. I’ve had several imaginative ways of revealing this information, all of which were filled with tension and humor and all of which required too much time than I really have right now. I have previously been the full time Worship Leader AND full time Youth Leader for our church and that has physically/emotionally/spiritually become too much. Much to my own surprise, I’m following the direction I believe God is calling me to right now and have chosen Youth ministry over worship. It’s truly interesting but I love these students and even though it at times feels like I’m jumping off a cliff, the view is incredible and I can fly for days 🙂

2. Blogging content is probably going to change. This is the most applicable to YOU. It may not be as noticeable because I’ve been wildly lame at putting up my worship confessionals and such but since we’re on the look out for a new Worship Leader and I’ll soon be doing just Youth, the topics of this blog may begin to reflect that change as well. I think this actually is most appropriate. I like to blog about my life and what I’m into at the moment and doing Youth is going to give me 1 direction to move forward into and yet many varied aspects of culture, leadership, entertainment, church to talk about.

3. I have an unnamed son arriving in less than 4 weeks. So, name suggestions would be nice. Something to ring with _____ Conner Byrd would be nice. Something interesting and a bit unique. This ultimately means my blogging activity is going to be questionable. I haven’t figured out if having a newborn and a 2 year old will give me more or less time to blog but I just wanted to warn you. My wife is saying this baby could come any day now and that kind of talk scares me. I like knowing I have 4 more weeks of sleepful nights!

4. My Google reader has hit the (1000+) mark. My cursor hovers above the “Mark All As Read” button instinctively. So please don’t hate me if I haven’t responded or commented on your blog. I have some catching up to do. I’ll give it until tomorrow night but after that I make no promises…

5. I’m heading to the Orange Conference at the end of April! Anyone else heading there? Anyone want to grab some coffee and meet a fellow blogger face to face? Anyone live in the Atlanta area? I’m hoping this will provide an opportunity to meet some of ya’ll and create an incredible experience! Let me know!

27 Responses to “5 Things You MUST Know Before Reading On”


  1. March 9, 2008 at 11:43 pm

    “_____ Conner Byrd”

    Sounds like a cuss word 🙂

    How about Jarod or Jackson…

  2. March 9, 2008 at 11:55 pm

    I like Jackson Byrd alot! I was in a phase where I was naming old presidents and Jackson and Lincoln were my 2 favorites! Lincoln Conner Byrd I thought sounded incredibly cool! But then my Mom pointed out people would probably just call him Link and although I LOVED Zelda as a kid I don’t like Link as my kid’s name. And then my Aunt named her son Jackson 😦

    Jarod is too common though.

  3. March 10, 2008 at 12:04 am

    I was Jarod, my wife was Jackson.

    I like Lincoln…but your Mom may be right.

  4. March 10, 2008 at 6:50 am

    So Conner, here’s a question:

    Does this mean that “Youth City” is now going to be the title of the blog? (kidding!)

    Seriously, blessings as you guys make this transition.

    Andy Stanley wrote, “There is always uncertainty associated with the future. Uncertainty presupposes risk. Leadership is about moving boldly into the future in spite of uncertainty and risk.”
    (Andy Stanley, “THE NEXT GENERATION LEADER” pg. 45)

    Have a great day.

    David Guion

    http://www.one24worship.com/

    PS – Yeah, enjoy these next four weeks of sleepful nights.

  5. 5 Jimbo
    March 10, 2008 at 7:39 am

    What a wonderful opportunity to help people in the “youth ages” pass through one of the most pivotal and developmentally significant times of a person’s life. The MASSIVE RESPONSIBILITY MUST CREATE TREMENDOUS STRESS!!!! What baby?

    Blogging content needs to change anyway. You gotta grow, “if your green your growing, if your ripe your rotting.”

    “James” Conner Byrd! Oh, that baby. Can’t you hear it, “your name sir? Byrd, James Byrd… shaken not stirred.”

    Can you write a macro blog reply, “That is thought provoking.” and send it to every blog on your reader?

    The Orange Conference should be in Florida, not GA and until they realize the mistake, I’m not going.
    Sleep when your dead.

  6. March 10, 2008 at 8:12 am

    Funny you should mention that youth thing. Look for a post of my own on that front soon.

    How about Free for your son’s name?

    🙂

  7. 7 J M
    March 10, 2008 at 10:19 am

    So glad to see you following the Sprit’s leading on your heart. You’re still a worship leader, just in a different capacity so that you can bring up future generations of worshipers.

    I second mudpuppy’s suggestion. Free Conner Byrd. That sounds pretty cool.

  8. March 10, 2008 at 11:25 am

    Yeah I thought about changing the name of the blog but I’m not. As you’ve stated here, worship is going to be an integral part of what I’m doing with our Youth and the start of this blog was to find Worship in life and in doing life and that’s still the purpose.

    BTW I just got the Free Byrd reference 🙂 Ya’ll are hysterical!

  9. March 10, 2008 at 11:26 am

    hmmmsounds like you need a new header though…

  10. 10 Rae
    March 10, 2008 at 11:30 am

    Ok so I do have an opinion on baby names since I am the mother!! hahaha!! Sweetie I thought we had Gavin picked out?!?!?! What is this now that we dont’ have a name? Besides our daughter has spoken and she likes Gavin. Everyone likes Gavin. I like Gavin. You like Gavin. What’s up??? : ) Gavin Conner Byrd has a nice ring to it. At least its not on the top 10 baby names of 2007!! Love you!

  11. March 10, 2008 at 11:33 am

    11:31 and I’ve only made it through the letter D in my Google Reader, things don’t look good.

    And pay no attention to the post above me. Gavin is a great name. I like Gavin, you planted Gavin in our kiddo’s brain, which may not have been a bad thing 🙂 but I still want to make sure we haven’t missed anything!
    …and since when did you start reading my blog?!?!

  12. March 10, 2008 at 11:40 am

    @Joel, I wouldn’t object to a new header 🙂 Haha

  13. 13 Ali
    March 10, 2008 at 11:52 am

    Okay, I’m gonna have to go with Rae on this one. You wanted Gavin as your son’s name since before y’all even got pregnant again. And saying that Rae “planted” Gavin in Chloe’s head — I dunno about that. Makes her sound devious! Besides, yesterday when we were going to the park Chloe had his blue blanket in her hand and she said, “Ali, this is baby brother’s blanket.” Then there was a pause and she said, “I love Gavin.” How cute is that?!

    All the other name suggestions I had were shot down months ago. So my vote is for Gavin.

  14. 14 Ali
    March 10, 2008 at 11:53 am

    Though I do have to agree that I like the idea of naming him Ryan since that is Rae’s maiden name.

  15. March 10, 2008 at 1:16 pm

    My boy born 4 months ago…Gavin Mitchell Klampert…
    beat ya to it…

  16. March 10, 2008 at 2:59 pm

    Conner,
    Rock on man! I’ve been praying for you and your decision on youth vs. worship for a while. It’s awesome the God has laid it in front of you and that you are following in His will.

  17. 17 Aaron Crawford
    March 10, 2008 at 3:39 pm

    Dont have any names for ya, but I got one you can’t touch. I am reserving Wolfgang Fang Crawford for if Im having a boy, so stay away…

  18. 18 Rae
    March 10, 2008 at 4:50 pm

    Believe me Aaron…..you can have it!!!
    and yes sweetie on occations….I do read your blog when the post aren’t that long!! : )

  19. March 10, 2008 at 7:10 pm

    I so knew that I liked you for a reason… worship and youth, that sounds like me. I’m a full-time youth pastor and co-worship leader at our church. Lovin’ it! Can’t wait to hear how life progresses for you from here. I really enjoy your blog.

  20. March 10, 2008 at 7:16 pm

    I so knew that I liked you for a reason… worship and youth, that sounds like my passions. I’m a full-time youth pastor and co-worship leader at our church. Lovin’ it! Can’t wait to hear how life progresses for you from here. I really enjoy your blog.

  21. 21 Jimbo
    March 10, 2008 at 10:13 pm

    Quit fighting it… Gavin’s taken, Free Byrd is before your time:
    James
    James
    James I tell ya, 007
    “Name sir? James, James Byrd.”

    And it’s biblical.

  22. March 10, 2008 at 11:39 pm

    Conner – great to hear that you are following God’s call on your life. Excited to see what’s next for you.

    How about a good Canadian name like Chuck or Pierre or Mountie? Mountie Byrd – that just rolls off the tongue 🙂

  23. March 11, 2008 at 4:06 pm

    WOOHOO Google Reader is down to 785!!

    And Jim, give it up brother.

    And Chris, you are hilarious. I don’t know any last name that would help out MOUNTIE! HA.

  24. 24 Jimbo
    March 11, 2008 at 9:22 pm

    Alright, I change my position.

    Mountie is the best. I can say without doubt I have never met anyone named Mountie and I shudder at the thought of the greatness that would be instilled in a young man growing up under such a banner. It makes me think of the Johnny Cash song, “A boy named Sue.” Great song… Mountie. Mount Byrd.

  25. 25 Jimbo
    March 11, 2008 at 9:26 pm

    Oh yeah, who was Gavin McCloud? You might want to check that out before you settle on Gavin. Now Mountie, there’s a fresh, untarnished title.

  26. March 11, 2008 at 9:37 pm

    Jimbo take 5 minutes and watch that Piper video up there. I’m thinking of using it for a prelude or offertory piece. You’re killing me Smalls. Killing me!

  27. March 11, 2008 at 10:27 pm

    WOOHOO Reader is down to 478!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


