18
Mar
08

The I Heart Revolution – What it is

Today’s music news comes a big bigger than normal. As most of you know, I’m a recent United junkie. So the buzz about I Heart Revolution has been getting me stir crazy for information on what this new project United has been working on really is all about. I’m a bit behind it seems but I finally have the story straight and if it’s something you know nothing about please watch the new trailer and then continue reading, I promise you won’t regret it. In fact, it may be the most significant thing you do today.

The I Heart Revolution very simply is 3 things:

  1. A double disc CD sampling worship that United has been a part of over the past 2 years from all over the world. Admittedly, they say it’s rough in some parts but it’s the beauty of unity that this piece will capture. The beauty of the worldwide church united in worship from the States to Africa to Down Under to across the Pond. Worship erupting across the globe to new songs and old. Release date in April I believe.
  2. A double disc DVD documenting the entire journey. Its release date is June I believe. The good times: passion, love, worship and the bad times: hunger, poverty, devastation. Inspiring and challenging this DVD will serve as another ramping tool to the 3rd piece of this project which is:
  3. The Movement. United will do their best to set up a platform to unite the local church in what they’re doing to local churches across the globe in what they’re doing. In essence, giving the local church a connectedness and sense of being in the global church kind of way. I can’t say it any better than Joel himself:
    And this is what will decide whether we’re a part of generation of hype and good intentions – who sung the songs and talked about making a difference but with little action.. Or whether we can truly say we were a part of global revolution.. A movement of passionate people who laid down our own personal agendas for the good of others and the cause of Christ..

One of the most encouraging and inspiring thing I have been a part of discussing with my students was after a 9th grader asked my why he was blessed to be living where and when he was living right now when there are students and children in our own country and obviously in Africa and Central America who have it so badly. I think this I Heart Revolution is incredible and I love what United is doing with the situation and placement God has given them.

This will be something I foresee me talking much about in the future 🙂

4 Responses to “The I Heart Revolution – What it is”


  1. March 19, 2008 at 9:08 am

    I’ve been anxious to hear what this whole thing was about. They rolled it out last summer when they were in Toronto but gave zero details which was kind of frustrating.

    They’re coming back here this summer to do a full worship conference so I’m thinking they’ll be giving some more details. Joel’s assessment is bang on – very cool.

  2. March 19, 2008 at 9:35 am

    Yeah, I’ve been wearing I HEART REVOLUTION buttons on my guitar strap for like a year now, not really knowing what to say about it! I’m glad I finally have a bit of an understanding!

  3. 3 Joe
    May 25, 2008 at 11:31 pm

    I also am a UNITED junkie, but I have a few questions about part 3… What exactly is it, I’ve heard that it might be a myspace/facebook sort of thing to unite the local churches across the world what do you think?

  4. 4 Joe
    May 25, 2008 at 11:48 pm

    I think i was right, Joel mentions a wed site to connect youth across nations in this video:


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


