19
Mar
08

My New Stage of Fatherhood

Since Chloe has been bringing home doodles and crafts from daycare we’ve been throwing them on the fridge and keeping them in boxes and making a big deal and such. It’s fun. Today though I hit a new stage of Fatherhood: the “Priceless Treasures” stage!

Exhibit A) Preggers, Chloe, our lab Molly, one of our cats, and I were taking a walk around the block. Chloe stops and picks one of those generic flowers that grows everywhere there is grass. You know, it’s the flowers that girls make necklaces and rings out of in the school yard. Well she bounds over to me and: “LOOK DADDY A FLOWER!” To which I gasp and awe over and put it behind my right ear. She finds this immensely hilarious and proceeds to pick me another flower: “FOR YOUR ODDER EAR DADDY!” We then are stopping at every yard with Chloe trying to pick flowers for Preggers and me. The cutest dang thing ever! I swear if Steve Jobs rolled up on us at that moment and asked me for those flowers in exchange for the MacBook I’ve been lusting over online, I think I dang well might have passed!

Exhibit B) My Mom (Nana) and Dad (Deekah) were over with us tonight. Nana told Chloe she was her little girl to which Chloe giggled and shook her head NO.

  • Chloe, you’re not Nana’s little girl?
  • NOPE
  • Well who’s little girl are you?
  • DADDY’S!

as she runs over and hugs my waist! Captain Kirk could have beamed into our kitchen at that moment and told me they needed me travel back in time with him 10 minutes ago to join Bono on stage and sing All I Want is You live in concert in front of a sold out crowd. The catch is that it would replace the 10 minutes I just lived and that moment would be no more. I think I would have asked Spock to put me down with his Vulcan grip instead so I could stay here and remember that moment with my daughter.

The power this little girl of mine has on me grows stronger every day! Thank God we have another one on the way to provide me a little distraction 🙂

5 Responses to “My New Stage of Fatherhood”


  1. 1 Ali
    March 19, 2008 at 10:40 am

    Chloe’s so great. That story made me smile. However, if I could just bring you back to reality here — if Steve Jobs rolled up and offered you a MacBook in exchange for those flowers you probably would have knocked Chloe over on the way to his car! =)

  2. March 19, 2008 at 10:43 am

    Get behind me Satan! That would never happen 🙂
    She be in more danger of me passing out and collapsing on her than anything! Hahaha

  3. March 19, 2008 at 11:36 am

    That’s awesome man.

  4. March 19, 2008 at 1:01 pm

    haha – Vulcan grip. Yeah fatherhood’s the best.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


