26
Mar
08

My Hand at Video Editing

We’re about to begin a Church Recruiting Campaign and we have this Tool Time/Tim the Toolman Taylor kind of theme that we’re having fun with. This portion of the video I didn’t shoot, it was done by my good friend Jonathan but I put in more time than I thought I would to get the flow right and edit down the 30+ minutes of footage they took on Sunday morning into 3 and 1/2 minutes.

Purpose: to have fun watching “Tim” walk through the different areas of ministry in our church where we need volunteers and laugh at him botch things up 🙂 Intro and set up will be done by “Tim and Al” live on the Tool Time set as well as a wrap up.
FYI
the soundtrack is not what we’ll play. It was just a 3 minute song I had in iTunes that fit. I think we’ll use Flight of the Bumblebee or something like that.

What do you video pros think? Be gentle but honest! Just remember I don’t own a Mac nor do I do Video editing on a regular basis at all!!

6 Responses to “My Hand at Video Editing”


  1. March 26, 2008 at 7:50 pm

    I have to say, the camera work rocks! The editing works pretty well too 😉 I like the fast-forwarded aspect.

  2. March 26, 2008 at 8:36 pm

    Yeah that was the plan all along. I was worried because your footage looked great! Real raw and very intentionally “handi-cam” but I got concerned knowing I had to speed it up. I think it came out great. I can’t believe that’s all you got for me though! I thought you would have way more feedback for me!!

  3. March 26, 2008 at 8:45 pm

    I was the guy who videoed it…I can’t say too much without looking vain.
    Wasn’t there some sort of intro or something like that with Jim, I mean Al, in it too? I had hoped to see that part.

  4. March 27, 2008 at 9:17 am

    Great video idea! I thought you did a good job. Most people who don’t do video editing wouldn’t notice that it wasn’t done by a pro. I agree on updating the song choice, though (smile). LOL!

  5. March 27, 2008 at 10:58 am

    Yeah, other than that song the video looks top notch. I don’t know if there is a place for it in this one, but in the middle of a fast forward approach like that, it’s cool to slow it down to real time and have the person talking for a second, just to break it up.

  6. March 27, 2008 at 5:53 pm

    Yeah Mud, I wanted to play around with the speeds but it’s a bit more difficult than I expected so we’re sticking to 1 speed.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


