28
Mar
08

Out with the Blue and in with the Assassins!

We finally wrapped up our reading and discussion of Donald Miller’s Blue Like Jazz. Actually it was 2 weeks ago! This week we met and just had a party! It was a great time and probably some of the most fun I’ve had in a while. When people ask me what sharing life is all about, I’m able to point to moments of celebration like that as an example of the highs of doing life together! People asked off work, brought the kids, brought food, brought beers, brought Rock Band, and we just had a blast! It was also the last time Rae and I will meet with our group until quite some time with the impending baby that will get here sooner or later!

I am continuing to meet with my Guy’s Group and we just picked up Deadly Viper Character Assassins! It is blowing my mind! It’s incredibly fun and I highly recommend it for ANYONE who is looked at as a leader by at least 3 other people. You may lead in a volunteer capacity. You may lead professionally. You may be a Father! This book is great. So far, nothing has been mindblowingly new, but it’s timeless truths told through the lens that I’ve never heard it before.

  1. It’s written in a Kung Foo style! – The Assassins are metaphors for ways/choices/decisions that threaten our character and integrity as leaders.
  2. It’s written by some crazy folks! – Mike Foster founded XXXchurch. Jud Wilhite leads a church in Vegas!

So regardless of if you’ve “heard it all before,” NO you haven’t! Not like this!
I’m up to chapter 3…no 4…no 2…um…I’ve read Chapter 0, 1, 2 . See what I mean. Who starts with Chapter 0!

Are there any other Kung Foo masters of character out there studying the disciplines of Master Po?

2 Responses to “Out with the Blue and in with the Assassins!”


  1. March 28, 2008 at 10:59 pm

    Why don’t you really tell us how excited you are. 😉

  2. March 29, 2008 at 1:46 pm

    It is not officially on my reading list.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


