02
Apr
08

Why are we friends?

I had lunch today with a great friend of mine. Out of all of my friends, he’s probably the one that I’ve known the longest that I still keep in contact with on a regular basis. I realized today that we have something very unique in our friendship: we have no reason to be friends!

He doesn’t play guitar, or any musical instrument for that matter.
He doesn’t sing.
He enjoys Country music.
He doesn’t come to our Church.
He doesn’t belong to a small group.
He doesn’t blog/twitter/mySpace/Facebook.
He doesn’t have a dog.
He’s not married.
He doesn’t have any children.
He doesn’t have a Christian upbringing.

The people that I have most of my relationships with are found within the circles of my life that make up my job or hobbies or stage of life. They’re there because we share a common need. We have this symbiotic friendship that exists because we’re doing life together and we’d rather not be doing it alone. It’s easier and more fun to play certain songs with a skilled electric guitarist. It’s comforting and supportive to share life with other young couples who are getting married, buying cars, houses, beginning careers. And don’t get me wrong, I don’t think there’s any problem here. I’m advised from wise council that the more I can connect my friends into the various circles of my life the easier and closer our friendship will be. Its simple: if they’re involved with what I’m doing they’ll be where I’ll be and we’ll all be sharing life together! It’ll be fantastic!!

But there was something so pure and incredible about lunch today! Just really digging into one another and what’s going on in life. We’re friends just because we like each other. It doesn’t matter what job or what church or what’s going on, I think we’ll always be friends. I think I have other friendships like that as well. With some that read this blog here, however, I don’t really know that (even though I think I do ๐Ÿ™‚ ) because we do share something in common. I want to bring that purity into our relationship too though. I want to make sure that we’d be friends if all else was taken away, just because we like each other ๐Ÿ™‚

And all together now…ahhh…that was darling.

3 Responses to “Why are we friends?”


  1. April 2, 2008 at 10:42 pm

    You might not think you share much in common, except that there’s your past history / stories from times that you’ve spent together. Communication makes friendships, so if you can communicate, that’s huge.

  2. April 2, 2008 at 11:05 pm

    Yeah you’re totally right. Our commonality has been taken away actually. We graduated college and are no longer RAs ๐Ÿ™‚ It is huge.

  3. April 3, 2008 at 8:16 am

    The whole ying and yang thing going on. I have very similar friendships.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other followers

Categorical Listings


