03
Apr
08

My Apology to Mr. John Mayer

Dear John,

I’m sorry that I shrugged you off for all this time. I think I wasn’t ready for your musical maturity. I thoroughly enjoyed Room for Squares and thought I had you all figured out. Heavier Things was not what I expected “heavy” to sound like, I didn’t realize that wasn’t the “heavy” you were talking about. I put you behind me.

Then the bludgeoning overkill of radio and MTV lumped “Waiting on the World to Change” with other disposable musical singles like the latest Britney waste of time. I didn’t even give Continuum a chance to breathe. I was mistaken. The art of Continuum reminds me that music can have a soul. That not all guitars have to be played through Vox AC30s with incredible delay. That listening to a song actually means listening to the lyrics as well. That even though I’m happily married and love my wife more than I can describe that my heart breaks every time I listen to Dreaming with a Broken Heart! You make me want to work on my falsetto Sir! That you understand layers! You’re an onion John Mayer…not that you stink…or that you make me cry…or that if I left you out in the sun that you’d get all brown and start sproutin’ little white hairs…but layers! Layers! For a guitar virtuoso sometimes I’m left wondering where the guitar is? The composing of this CD is sometimes as incredible as the soul in the guitar work!

So please, accept my apology for taking so long to find how incredible this CD is. I noticed that iTunes re-released it in 2007 with some live tracks. That release date allows me to perhaps in someway right my wrong. I would like to honorarily induct you into my Top Ten of 2007. It’s understandably silly and irrelevant but I would like to do it anyway. I have not been able to shake Continuum from my playlists recently and every time I listen to it I hear something new. I hear something that wasn’t there before that catches my ear. It is a tremendous CD.

Keep it up and I look forward to your next great achievement!

Sincerely,

Conner Byrd

P.S. I’m not a stalker.
P.P.S. I get no royalties from the sale of Continuum or any other John Mayer release.

9 Responses to “My Apology to Mr. John Mayer”


  1. 1 Dan
    April 3, 2008 at 11:17 am

    Yea I was in the same boat.. I heard his stuff lumped in w/all the MTV junk and it wasn’t until I got the CD and really listened to it that I can now appreciate his talent. Good stuff!

  2. April 3, 2008 at 11:25 am

    ha ha ha…this is great…the john mayer trio was eh..ok, but when that guy plays blues..HOLY CRAP he is amazing

  3. 3 valda
    April 3, 2008 at 12:43 pm

    Just wait till you see John play live…it’s another layer of the onion. Saw him twice last year for the first time – this year will be 5 times (planned so far anyway!)If you can get to see him I promise you you will not be disappointed. This guy is what live music is all about.

  4. 4 valda
    April 3, 2008 at 12:45 pm

    Oh another thing. Those guys that diss him all the time just haven’t got further than the commercial stuff.

  5. April 3, 2008 at 2:01 pm

    Live… really amazing talent. You know, we talk dynamics all the time — that dude wrote the book. Incredible writing, guitar and vocal talent. I thought the Trio was awesome… to me, if a band can pull off a three-piece live, they really have something.

  6. April 3, 2008 at 3:38 pm

    I’m no fan, and readily admit all I’ve heard is the commercial stuff. My fault. I’ll give it a listen though and if the price was right, I might go see him live.

    That being said. Great post, I love it. It actually makes me want to check out some Mayer. A friend of mine is supposed to be lending me a CD. I hope I like what I hear, especially as a guitarist/songwriter type.

  7. April 3, 2008 at 4:28 pm

    Not a huge fan, partially because I think I like bucking the trend and if something is really popular I tend to shy away (not sure why, it’s just what I do – antiestablishment I guess? thats a general rule too, there are a few notable exceptions, usually ones I like to think I knew about before everyone else haha). But I saw him and Ben Folds last fall. I was really excited about seeing Ben Folds and curious about John Mayer. Well, there was a row of teen/tween/twentysomething/whocares females behind us and they talked over Ben Folds through his whole set and screamed and lusted over John Mayer through his whole set. I guess that kind of put another damper on it for me. Plus, his set was over 2 1/2 hours long (I don’t think I could scream for 2 1/2 hours, but the girls behind us did). He spent more time soloing than most bands spend playing in an average show. Before you call me a hater, I will say that I respect his chops. I guess it’s just my love for all things as of yet undiscovered and my disdain for all things MTV that has me a little jaded. But I usually agree with your musical tastes (the Leeland recommendation was spot on), so I’ll keep working on it :).

  8. April 3, 2008 at 10:52 pm

    Yeah Matt, I’m with you. My preference is the things typically not heralded by MTV and such, (however disposable pop/rock does have it’s place sometimes) however, I think I know now why even though John Mayer has a presence there they don’t really play alot of his music. Singles wise he has a very limited exposure in mainstream media. Sure he played guitar with Beyonce’ at the awards show and was all over Chapelle Show but listening to Continuum, I found it’s not “mainstream friendly.” I think again, another reason why I liked it so much.

  9. April 10, 2008 at 10:00 pm

    John is an incredible writer, musician and thinker. I have loved his music from day one. But even I had to fight internally to continue to follow him after MTV, VH1 and the Grammys slapped their stench on him. I’m glad I found the resolve. ‘Try’ was beautiful and if you doubt that you just don’t like music. Currently, ‘Say’ is sending my loyalty through the ringer, but he’s proven one sappy pop offering is no blight on his lustrous talent. I’m sure Mayer would accept your apology. How humble of you.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


