03
Apr
08

The End of an Era

No longer will there be an empty seat at the dinner table.

No longer when one of us gets tired can we ask the other to watch the kid and go rest.

No longer can 4 people sit in the car around the 1 car seat.

No more man space, it’s now another kid’s room.

The realization of another child coming into our little family is heavy yet intoxicating. These past few days/week have been this slow grind getting to Rae’s actual due date. Never did we think she’d make it this far. It’s right in front of us now and its really surreal. As cliche’ as ever, it’s the calm before the storm. We wanted today to be special so we had lunch and a movie. We picked up Chloe a little early. We rented her a new movie. We watched it on the sofa. We played and played and went to bed late. Things are about to change.

When we were at Blockbuster tonight, I fell prey to the 2/$20 bins littered across the store. I quickly found 6 movies I could get but only carried around 4 with me. Rae sheeshed me and quickly dashed my hopes and dreams. I think it’s how Chloe felt 10 minutes later when I told her she didn’t need anymore candy because we have a basket full from Easter so go put it all back! Rae told me we didn’t need to throw down 40 bucks on movies, especially ones that I didn’t even know were good or not. The adding of children (in a way) is incredible in the sense that it continues to shrink me. Thank God for my wife. I don’t hesitate to cast money aside like 40 bucks on DVDs. On the way home I realized how ridiculous that is. We have the ability to nearly rent free movies all the time, why would I buy them? Especially when we take Ali’s all the time as well 🙂 I have a responsibility and duty to provide for my children. I need to not take that carelessly. The love, grace, kindness, intimacy thing comes so much easier but it’s the order of things that my children now take precedence to my senseless wants that needs to be checked sometimes.

That is until I need to buy some more gear 🙂

Oh and one more thing at the end of this era:

No longer will I be outnumbered by women!

2 Responses to “The End of an Era”


  1. April 4, 2008 at 8:06 am

    Before we had our first, everyone told us that our lives would never be the same. We kinda said “yeah, whatever” but it was totally true. The same has been true of adding the second kid. It is just as big of a change as adding the first. It is absolute insanity in my house pretty much all the time, but I wouldn’t trade it for anything.

    All I can say is get ready, ’cause it’s gonna get real crazy real soon. Congrats, man. How old is your daughter, by the way?

  2. April 4, 2008 at 8:24 am

    Thanks! Chloe is 2 and a half. So she knows what’s going on without really understanding what’s going on. She knows “baby’s in the belly” and she’s a “big sister to her baby brother” but I don’t think she gets it. I don’t think I get it! Hahaha


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


