05
Apr
08

Hospital Update

Wow the past 48 hours have been incredible. I’ve got to admit, I was actually scared that since I’ve already seen my wife give birth to our daughter that some of the amazing incredibleness of watching life enter the room would have worn off. To my joyful exuberance it had not! The first thing I noticed in when we got to the delivery room was this big dry erase board. Behold, the day’s events as they unfolded:

Gavin\'s Day

I’ll interpret for those who don’t speak Conner-ese:

  • 7:15 AM – We enter the delivery room and I imagine the fun I could have with a dry erase board!
  • 7:33 – The nurse attempts an IV in Rae’s hand and is unsuccessful. Rae is not happy.
  • 8:04 – They begin the Pit drip. Rae is 4 cm not 4 inches! I do not know the symbol for cm, obviously.
  • 8:50 – We’re making trips to the toilet as Rae feels the effects of all the fluids & we have water breakage!
  • 9:20 – She gets the epidural. I have to leave the room ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
  • 9:50 – She feels the effects of the epi and has the shakes.
  • 10:10 – Rae is fully dialated and feeling EVERYTHING. Nurse instructs her to push that button b/c she should not be feeling what is about to happen!
  • 10:40 – Rae needs to flip sides to help Gavin line up properly
  • 11:41 – Gavin nearly beats the Doctor and the entire delivery team to the room!! This was a quick morning!

So quick in fact that the Doctor said she basically gave a natural delivery. She progressed so quickly they she thinks Rae was nearly at 10 cm when they gave her the epi. The nurse had to call the Doc in b/c Rae all of a sudden had to push and was in excruciating pain. As soon as the Doc got there, I think she might have pushed through 3 contractions and BLAMO Gavin was in her hands. We’re talking like 15 minutes tops! It was the craziest thing! I thought Chloe’s delivery was quick, this took the cake!

My girl’s a trooper though and my son is healthy! Here’s a Slideshow from my Picasa account. Anyone want to tell me why Flickr is better and if I should switch? …ok I can’t get my slideshow to actually show live here but if you click the below picture it will begin the slideshow for you ๐Ÿ™‚

Click for Slideshow

8 Responses to “Hospital Update”


  1. April 5, 2008 at 7:47 pm

    Hmmm…having trouble posting that slide show it seems.

  2. April 5, 2008 at 8:26 pm

    Before I go into why flickr is better: Congratulations!
    It’s totally awesome that the whole labor and delivery lasted just about 3.5 hrs. That’s amazing! Ya’ll could have bunches more kids (wink wink).
    Ok, so flickr is better for lots of reasons, such as the fact that it’s way easier to get a slideshow on your site than it is with picassa, obviously ๐Ÿ™‚ It also allows integration with your wordpress site (see for reference http://www.schellack.net/jonathan/photos/) via a handy wordpress plugin. That means that all I have to do for my site is upload my pics to flickr and blamo! there they are on my site.

  3. April 5, 2008 at 8:44 pm

    And I’m convinced ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. April 5, 2008 at 11:01 pm

    awesome photos man..congrats again

  5. 5 scoots
    April 6, 2008 at 8:49 pm

    CONGRATS TO YOU AND RAE!!!!!!!!!!!!

  6. 6 snowjunkie
    April 8, 2008 at 8:16 pm

    Loved the photos. Congratulations!

  7. April 9, 2008 at 2:35 pm

    It is with great shame that I post my big congratulations to you and the Mrs on your new little one, 4 days late. I was on vacation in Houston. Excuses aside, I’m happy for you guys. Congrats to you both, he’s a keeper for sure.

  8. April 11, 2008 at 3:48 pm

    Congrats again. ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


