11
Apr
08

My Movie Watching Week Reviews

Stop-Loss – The direction of this movie is what interested me the most. The war in Iraq was simply a backdrop to the real drama that existed in this movie. What the turmoil this movie addresses is a soldier’s condition coming back from war and this idea of a Stop-Loss. I know this is an MTV film but I think they marketed it all wrong. The preview showcased it as another fun movie about the war with a bunch of hot guys in it. I think the premise and subject matter is actually much more raw and relevant than that. I think this was actually a really good movie. There’s alot of good movies being released right now that would make it hard to catch back up with this one if you’ve missed it but I would definitely recommend checking it out or adding it to your BlockBuster que when it comes time.

Over the Hedge – NO, NO, NO. I can’t come around this movie. Yes, it can be funny at times but I cannot bring myself to indulge this movie, ESPECIALLY for my kids! I can’t believe the storyline of this movie made it’s way past editors, other writers, head honchos, intelligent people. A down and out protagonist steals and swindles others to feed his belly. Let’s make those who he’s stolen from the bad guys! Yeah! We can make the audience then hate them, allow him to stick it to them in the end and have a turn around character moment and everyone’s left with a warm fuzzy in their belly. AND they almost had me. I’m sorry, this one doesn’t cut it for me or for my kiddos.

No Country for Old Men – Probably the most mesmerizing movie I’ve been able to watch with my new son 🙂 I literally got hypnotized by the incredible old country vast landscapes, the drawl of the cast, the peculiar banter (was I supposed to laugh at that? this is a serious movie but that was funny), the insane acting chops found here! One of the more impressive and truly remarkable things about this movie was the score. THERE WASN’T ONE! I didn’t figure it out until quite a ways into it but the score is basically, footsteps…car engines…the wind…the click of a rifle…the rushing water…it was intoxicating. I want to watch the movie again because I’m sure I missed some things. The ending’s not going to please everyone, in fact I thought I was at the climax at least twice earlier in the film! But that’s not this film’s intent.

Sunshine – I’m a huge Cillian Murphy and I’ve loved what Danny Boyle’s done previously, add to that Entertainment Weekly giving Sunshine it’s Pick of the Week back when it was released on DVD, I WAS PRETTY STOKED to finally grab this one. Then I watched it and let out a lil sigh. Don’t get me wrong, the movie is solid! I think the most incredible thing is the way the shooting of this film changes with the mood of the movie. I think that’s what I love so much about Danny. In the end, I felt like I hadn’t seen anything terribly new with the sci-fi genre though and instead of getting an incredibly fresh take on a sci-fi movie, I got a little tweak. The tweak was a good one, don’t get me wrong, but not enough for me. Maybe my expectations were too high.

Disney Princess Enchanted Tales: Follow Your Dreams – It should also have a subtitle: White Lies Don’t Hurt Anyone Especially if You Have Good Intentions Kids. Sorry, maybe I’m becoming one of “those” parents but again, I have a problem with messages sent to my kiddos that are directly opposed to the messages I want to give my kiddos. Jasmine’s story here hits a foul ball out of the park.

8 Responses to “My Movie Watching Week Reviews”


  1. April 11, 2008 at 4:59 pm

    Great reviews!! I’m going to put Stop-Loss in my Que now.

    And I loved No Country! More so even the week following. It marinated and got better in my mind.

    BTW, hope all is going GREAT on the baby and wife front!!

  2. April 11, 2008 at 5:29 pm

    I’m a bit surprised that you love No Country and refuse to watch Over the Hedge. No Country was a pretty interesting movie. VERY violent. It could be said that some of the characters had no conscience. But the animated Over the Hedge that shows animals stealing food (which they do all the time) is deemed unacceptable.

    I’m not trying to bust your chops, but how do you come to those conclusions? Is a different “filter” used for different movies?

    I know that when my kids were little, I too was very particular about what they watched. Still am, although they are teenagers now and they have quite a bit more say in what they watch. I’ve had a thought running through my mind for a while that I have a hard time explaining rationally. But if a movie/book/song/whatever is not fit for a child, should it be fit for a child of God? Does rated-R, which makes it unfit for children, also mean it’s unfit for Christians? I’m sure plenty of people will disagree with that statement. But I always wonder…..

  3. April 11, 2008 at 5:54 pm

    Hey Bill, welcome. Good questions here, just to clarify, I did watch all the movies above.
    No Country is wildly violent. However, at the end of the movie you clearly see that the violent antagonist is evil. His actions are evil. He’s messed up. You see our “protagonist” make wrong decisions: steal 2 million dollars, pridefully refuse to surrender the money, etc. and consequently you see the pain and consequences of those decisions. You see an old sheriff struggle with evil in the world and his place amongst it. I think those are all valid things for us to see and discuss and ponder.
    Quite the contrary is Over the Hedge. Our “protagonist’s” wrong decisions never have consequences. The antagonists are people who rightly deserve to be after our loveable RJ, he’s stolen all their food! Hahaha. Therefore, I have a problem with it.

    As far as ratings go, I don’t give them much mind. They’re are some incredible R rated movies that speak truth and I value more than G movies. It’s more of an individual movie basis and what is it that causes the movie to get its R?

  4. April 11, 2008 at 5:55 pm

    Oh and Mud, the wife and kiddo are doing grrrreat!

  5. April 14, 2008 at 1:36 pm

    I’ve probably said this before, but I loved No Country For Old Men for pretty much the same reasons you mentioned. Everything from the cinematography to the dialogue is just spot-on perfect.

    I also enjoyed Sunshine quite a bit. I wasn’t crazy about the terror/suspense bit at the end, though. It felt like it became a different film.

  6. April 14, 2008 at 2:24 pm

    Regarding Disney Princess… Yeah, I know, we have it too.

    However, check out Enchanted! Forget all the grown-up movies man, this movie is quite hilarious (excellent daddy daughter movie time) — the Naked Gun version of Disney Princess done very well.

  7. April 14, 2008 at 8:04 pm

    No Country For Old Men was very good. Lots’ of quiet scenes with subtle clicks and hums as you described, yet very mesmerizing throughout.

    Not really a movie for those who like everything wrapped up neatly at the end.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


