21
Apr
08

Special Features DVDs

I’ve found recently, that I’ve been enjoying checking out the Special Features found on some of my DVDs while I’m rocking my new son back to bed at 1 in the morning. Here’s what I’ve found:

Juno – I love this movie! Obviously 🙂 The special features found here are just icing on the cake to an already incredible movie! Besides the Gag reel (I LOVE Gag reels!!) and Rainn Wilson’s shenanigans, I found the accompanying Screenplay an incredible bonus! There’s not too many movies I’d like to “read” but this would be one! However, it didn’t really do anything for me like these next 2:

Beowolf – “This isn’t the story of Beowolf you read in Jr. High. This is about eating, drinking, killing, and fornication.” Well that’s how director Robert Zemeckis puts its in the opening of the Making of Beowolf and he’s absolutely right. I resisted this movie for a long time because I knew I’d like 300 better…and in the end I do! However, the “animation” of Beowolf is simply breathtaking and the many Special Features featurettes really enhance my appreciation of the film. The Making of is incredible to see how they actually made this film come to life. It made me actually like the film and want to go back and watch it all over again! The added bonuses of Creating the Ultimate Beowolf and Designing the Beasts of Beowolf were also great and they did a good job of keeping them quick and painless to not bore us to death!

Sin City – I can’t wait for the criticism on this 🙂 After bashing Over the Hedge I know ya’ll will burn me at the stake for even mentioning Sin City! HA. However, again, the Special Features here are TOP NOTCH and I just love the incredible way that Frank Miller/Robert Rodriguez/Quentin Tarantino can tell a stinkin’ story! I invested in the Special Edition Double Disc Recut Extended Unrated version when it came out and I’m finally diving into all the great goodies of disc 2. For fans of the film this is a MUST HAVE! You have the option of watching the film by it’s original theatrical release or by watching the recut and extended editions which allow you to watch each of the 4 main story lines in chronological order OR in a high speed Green Screen rendition! Robert Rodriquez’ 15-Minute Film School is wicked fun as is his 10 minute cooking school. Another added bonus is a mini-graphic novel of the Hard Goodbye storyline. It allows you to really see how Rodriguez captured Frank Miller’s creative style and transitioned it to the big screen. Greatness all around…if you can get past the prostitution, drinking, debauchery, murder, blood, crooked cops, scantily clad females, and gore 🙂

Any recommendations on your end? I think I’ve got another 5 weeks at least of getting up in the middle of the night. What am I missing out on? Spike’s been showing the Star Wars movies, I think they might be next.

3 Responses to “Special Features DVDs”


  1. April 21, 2008 at 6:51 pm

    No criticism here for Sin City! I freaking love this movie. It captured the look and feel of the comics so well, it’s astonishing.

  2. 2 Ali
    April 21, 2008 at 8:20 pm

    As soon as I’m done with my finals I am bringing you some shows to watch while you are up in the middle of the night. Watching a TV series is the way to go and I have some great ones for you: 1) It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia, Seasons 1-3, 2) Flight of the Conchords, 3) Harvey Birdman, Attorney at Law Seasons 1-4. And of course, I have all 9 seasons of Seinfeld so if you ever need a little Jerry, you know where to turn! Just a note here: you know how Rae hates Seinfeld? Well, she’ll probably hate all of these other shows, too. But they are FANTASTIC!

  3. September 4, 2013 at 12:59 am

    Have you ever considered about including a little bit more than just your articles?
    I mean, what you say is important and everything.
    But imagine if you added some great pictures or videos to give your posts more, “pop”!
    Your content is excellent but with pics and video clips, this website
    could certainly be one of the best in its niche. Wonderful blog!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


