06
May
08

This Day in Music – I Open Pandora

So much of my time is spent here on my computer at work, on my computer at home, on my computer at St. Arbucks, etc. and while I typically despise typical radio, I’ve been turned on to Internet Radio. Last week a friend of mine introduced me to Pandora Radio. It’s simple and easy to use and requires no downloads!

Here’s how it works:

  • Tell them what Artist/Song you enjoy listening to
  • They’ll generate more of the same!

If you’re familiar to Cover Flow view of iTunes, it’s pretty similar to that. As it’s playing the songs you several options that include things like: Don’t Like, Like, Why’d You Chose This?, Move to another “Station.” It’s great because you can create as many “stations” depending on your musical preference. At the moment I have 2. One is David Crowder Band and the other is One Republic. I’ll probably swap that up for more diversity but so far it’s been pretty accurate. The crazy thing is that I haven’t even registered or done anything other than simply start listening to free music!

So, bored of your shuffling of iTunes playlists? Check out Pandora.

Use something else? Let me know. This is new territory for me.

8 Responses to “This Day in Music – I Open Pandora”


  1. May 6, 2008 at 2:14 pm

    Pandora is great – I use it a good bit.
    Another really awesome internet radio is Slacker (http://www.slacker.com). I blogged about it a while ago (http://www.schellack.net/jonathan/2007/03/28/slacker/). It shows you more info on what’s going on, what artists are like the one you’ve selected, etc. Check it out.

  2. May 6, 2008 at 3:21 pm

    I’ve heard about muxtape but don’t I have to create the playlist there? I want one that will sustain itself all by itself while I work like Pandora 🙂

  3. 4 rodge
    May 6, 2008 at 11:50 pm

    i’ve been getting into last.fm over the last month. it’s the same thing. i totally love it.

  4. 5 snowjunkie
    May 7, 2008 at 12:12 pm

    Last.fm is cool. Check out my profile.

    You can link it with iTunes, so it “scrobbles” all the tracks you listen to and finds you people with similar music tastes.

    There is also cool widgets for your blog based on your listening habits.

    Check it out!

  5. May 7, 2008 at 12:33 pm

    Hmmm Last.fm looks pretty cool.
    So far nothing has come close though to the simplicity of Pandora but I’m listening to Last.fm now.

  6. May 8, 2008 at 1:41 pm

    I 2nd last.fm. I have a profile and scrobble my tracks via itunes as well.

    I’ve recently learned of grooveshark.com via twitter. I haven’t messed with it much, it looks pretty simple and clean. They’re a start up out of gainesville, fl which is local to me.

  7. August 5, 2008 at 8:05 am

    I completely adore Pandora which is playing softly in the background here at work while I’m on the computer.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other followers

Categorical Listings


