21
May
08

We’re not alcoholics.

I’m standing in Aisle 3 with Rae contemplating which barbecue sauce to get for our burgers we’ll be grilling tomorrow and Saturday. We’re laughing because we notice this trend of alcohol companies getting in on the action. There’s Jack Daniel’s with several different flavors, Jim Beam with several different flavors, and Budweiser.

Lady walking up behind us from nowhere: You really ought to try the Budweiser sauce it has the most flavor!

Me: Really?!?

Lady: Oh yes, my husband and I just love it!

Me: Oh, do you drink Budweiser? Does it taste like that?

Lady: OH NO. We’re not alcoholics. We just like the flavor.

And I was stumped. Seriously? So enjoying the taste of beer makes you an alcoholic but enjoying the taste of barbecue sauce made by the alcohol company presumptuously targeting those interested in the taste of their alcohol makes you…well it makes me confused.

Honestly, I was just a little surprised. This was a younger lady. One who I would have thought wouldn’t have had the all or nothing mentality by which you either enjoy alcohol and overindulge making you an alcoholic or abstain from ever touching it (except in barbecue form 🙂 . I thought she might have been a bit more open minded to say an idea of…moderation.

9 Responses to “We’re not alcoholics.”


  1. May 21, 2008 at 11:50 pm

    HAHAHAHA!!!

    That is awesome. I love hearing people respond with guilt. It is so interesting to hear what they will say.

  2. 2 snowjunkie
    May 22, 2008 at 6:28 am

    😉

  3. 3 Brent
    May 22, 2008 at 8:20 am

    Hopefully your sauce never touches the grill. Get a good cut of meat, and you won’t need any sauce.

  4. May 22, 2008 at 8:39 am

    that is too funny…I love BBQ sauce drunks

  5. May 22, 2008 at 9:38 am

    HA! Ya’ll are hilarious 🙂
    BBQ sauce drunks!

  6. May 22, 2008 at 11:16 am

    Sometimes I get home from work and just drink myself silly with BBQ sauce. Awesome buzz, but talk about the meat-sweats!

  7. May 22, 2008 at 10:22 pm

    Brent you obviously don’t live in the South and haven’t had incredible barbecue 🙂

    Mark, I got bored during the opening speech of LSU’s Law School graduation and read your comment and LAUGHED OUT LOUD! I immediately showed Rae and she did the same!
    We got dirty looks.

  8. 8 Ali
    May 23, 2008 at 12:51 am

    I don’t even understand why you would have to ponder what BBQ sauce to get. I thought I made this quite clear to y’all during football season. There is only ONE BBQ sauce — Sweet Baby Rays!!!

  9. May 23, 2008 at 11:51 am

    Glad I could help cut through the boredom. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


