23
May
08

Livin’ Southern Style

Instead of rolling my eyes and giggling under my breath reading about “the South” I thought I’d fill you in on how we roll down here in THE SOUTH. It doesn’t get much more Southern than here in Louisiana…unless I’ve got some Central American readers here! Allow me to fill you in on how you can bring a taste of the South to anywhere you are in the country. EVEN across the border to my friends way up North in Canada!

We had a graduation party for Ali who was graduating Law School from LSU and I figured what we did would be a great guideline for how to throw down your next shindig no matter where you are:

We eat: Cow, Pig, Chicken, or Fish. It’s what we all eat right?

  • Cow – Steak was the choice today. Burgers are always a great option. As discussed earlier however, marinade and spices are what it’s all about! I wish I had a pic of it for you! Mmmm. Recipe coming soon!
  • Pig – Sausage, sausage, sausage. If you’re lucky you’ll get a Cochon de Lait! Ah yeah!
  • Chicken – Fried or skewered please!
  • Fish – Boiled Crawfish is the way to go! Mudbugs baby! You can eat them all day long.

We boiled crawfish/potatoes/corn and grilled steaks and sausages today. I’m actually surprised we didn’t have any Boudin. It’s a typical staple of the Southern festivities. I wondered what felt off.

We drink: Water, Wine, Beer, Coke, Diet Coke, all of it! No, we’re not alcoholics but when your party goes from 2 to 8:30 you drink alot no matter what you’re drinking! You’ll need at least 2 ice chests and a fridge!

We’re sweet: The biggest dang cookie cake you’ve seen with a boat load of brownies!

We play: Bocce Ball, Ladder Golf, Washers! All out in the yard…in the rain even! Water balloon fights, dances with hoola hoops, tickle chase. Kids, grandparents, the whole family shows up and we have a blasty blast.

We love: We hug people we don’t know. We laugh. We share stories. We cook together. When the party finally slowed down without a word tables were being broken down and washed, trash collected and put away, pots and containers cleaned, dishes were even being washed! Our house was their house and it’s a beautiful thing to see unfold before you but to me it’s like community coming alive right in front of you.

So there you have it. In case you missed it, yes we threw about a 6 hour party! People were showing up from as early as 2 and leaving as late as 9. And yes it rained and yes there was Rock Band inside but no we stayed outside under the carport on the patio and in the lawn carrying on, what’s a little water going to do? So bring a bit of the South to your neck of the woods and spread the love. We’re doing it all over again on Saturday! Next time you’re in town let me know and we’ll do it again!

3 Responses to “Livin’ Southern Style”


  1. 1 Ali
    May 23, 2008 at 12:59 am

    Thanks again, Conner and Rae! It was AWESOME! I couldn’t have asked for a better day, even with the rain.

  2. May 23, 2008 at 11:54 am

    I know you all eat crawfish down there too. I could never bring myself to eat them because they always grossed me out so much. Mostly because where I grew up (small town Colorado) the crawfish are brown and they only thing they are good for is fishing bait!

  3. June 11, 2008 at 1:22 am

    this one made me miss louisiana a bit. hope you’re having a good time!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other followers

Categorical Listings


