01
Jun
08

29

Today is my birthday!

Yeppers, 29 today. It’s been fun! We had such a special service this morning with it being Family Worship Sunday. At River that means we incorporate many of the students in playing/reading/singing/etc. all throughout the service. I had a high schooler on bass, percussion, and as our singers. I had middle schoolers dancing to the 1st 2 songs because we played Tell the World and Everyday which are 2 songs we do at our RiverKidStuf service (akin to Northpoint‘s KidStuf.) I had a high schooler read today’s passage before the message and we had a guest drummer, the wonderfully talented and incredible Mr. G of Baton Rouge Music Studios who just happens to be a bunch of our students’ teacher at Dunham and at BRMS. It was very fitting seeing how my transition to full time Youth Director is happening this summer! This all happening on my birthday was very appropriate.

My wife and family have been great! So far I’ve got 2 tickets to John Mayer at the Woodlands, a TOMS shirt and shoes, and the best flippin’ card from my 2 year old I could ask for 🙂 An incredible lunch with my high schoolers complete with granpa teeth, a blue ribbon that reads “Birthday Boy,” a cake hat, and a card full of old man jokes and innuendos!

The kiddos are asleep and Rae says I need to be “ready to go” by 5:15! I’M SO EXCITED! I love surprises 🙂

Immortal words of James Brown are so fitting:

I FEEL GOOD!

Thanks everyone!

5 Responses to “29”


  1. June 1, 2008 at 4:36 pm

    FYI 2 things:
    1) Ali you are considered the “family” greatness mentioned above!
    2) Northpoint updated their site and it is OFF THE CHAIN! Dang people!

  2. June 1, 2008 at 8:25 pm

    awesome man…CONGRATS…and happy bday

  3. June 1, 2008 at 10:16 pm

    Happy Birthday again bro!
    Just saw your post in Goog Reader and noticed the Mayer tix. He’s coming up here end of August and I’m tempted to grab a couple tickets for me and the Mrs too. We’ll see how much they are when they go on sale this Saturday.

  4. June 2, 2008 at 8:13 am

    Turning 30 is weird. Trust me.

    Enjoy this last year!!!

    Happy Birthday!

  5. June 3, 2008 at 3:48 pm

    Happy belated birthday!

    🙂


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


