11
Jun
08

The Transition to Youth Ministry…nearly complete!

Today I officially become just a Youth Director! Now, don’t take that the wrong way. I officially stop being a Youth AND Worship Director and am able to “just” be a Youth Director 🙂 Unofficially, I’m still the Lead Worshipper until Sunday at 12:01 PM. I couldn’t be more excited about my last Sunday up front. It’s really a bizarre feeling. Since we’ve made this decision of heading to Youth Ministry I haven’t been able to truly stay focused and energized about worship. It’s like after the decision this switch went off in my head and I just couldn’t wait to begin doing this full time! Now, every Sunday that has gotten closer to this Sunday has been better and better and better and great! My incredible team of musicians really are doing just an insane job of letting me know what I’m leaving behind! HAHAHA.

Even though I have my degree in Human Resources, I hated the big question of “Where do you see yourself in 5 years? 10 years?!?!” I look back at my life over the past 5 years and I hate to even speak what the next 5 are going to hold. Youth Ministry wasn’t even on the radar but here’s a cool look down God’s path for my life:

  • In college I was getting my degree in Business so I could support myself as I tried to conquer my fears up front on stage and conquer the world with a band intent on making it big time as Rock Stars who happened to be Christians.
  • Life happened to everyone other than the drummer and I and the band disbanded. The only “gigs” available were on Worship Teams with friends.
  • God changed my heart from focusing on me to Him and post-College I was looking for Worship Leader spots to fulfill my new dream and focus.
  • River offered me the opportunity of coming on staff as Worship and Youth Director. When the time came when both positions would be too much, I felt sure that there wouldn’t be a decision to make. I’d keep on playing music and they could find a new Youth guy.
  • I began digging this Youth stuff! Time came and I’m now doing Youth and we’ve found a new Worship Director!

So next 5 years? Who knows!?! Am I a lifer here in Youth Ministry? I DON’T KNOW! All I know is that Rae and I feel confident that this is where and what I’m doing NOW. I used to think that to be successful and to be a successful Christian you’d find what God has you to do and then do it longer than everyone else! Haha. Seriously, sticking with it from beginning to end. However, I’m now under the impression (at least in MY life) that God doesn’t have a box. We’re moving forward but where we’ll end up, I’m not entirely sure…and I’m excited about that!

So my apologies for my absence here but man things have been crazy busy and wild as we finalized on the new Worship Leader, hired my new Summer Youth Intern, plan for summer activities, discuss new Youth building plans, and prepare for Mother’s and Father’s Days!

6 Responses to “The Transition to Youth Ministry…nearly complete!”


  1. June 11, 2008 at 11:52 pm

    I’m excited for you, Man. Look forward to the new lean on the blog — maybe? I’m both a worship leader and youth pastor currently, so I’m happy either way. (smile)

  2. June 12, 2008 at 9:14 am

    congrats bro.
    thats awesome.

  3. June 12, 2008 at 3:25 pm

    Thanks guys! It’s ironic because the 1st Sunday I’m not the “Worship Leader” we’re having an all Youth Worship Service that evening that I’m leading! HA.
    So, it’s more like the age group who I work directly with all became 1 and about 10 to 20 years younger than me 🙂

  4. June 12, 2008 at 3:27 pm

    And yes Shawn, I’ll begin leaning more heavily that direction…however, I don’t know which direction I lean to currently so we’ll see what that means!

  5. June 13, 2008 at 9:09 am

    There’s truly a peace in knowing that you’re where God has placed you for the time being. I’m the same as you as never having a good answer to the “in 5 or 10 years” question. In a human sense that can be scary, but trusting God to guide and provide is incredibly satisfying. There are other places my human nature would like to live (Colorado, for one!), especially with a son on the way, but it’s so obvious that we are supposed to be here in Kentucky that pushing against His clear direction would only cause dischord. Good luck with the “just” youth position. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other followers

Categorical Listings


