13
Jun
08

The Happening didn’t happen

Because there was a lot of speculation and hope and desire for M. Night Shyamalan’s new movie The Happening, featuring Mark Wahlberg and John Leguizamo and an R rating to be a return to a great Shyamalan movie, I feel the need to warn moviegoers to wait and rent it and go see something else this weekend. There’s alot out!

I think I might have had my expectations too high. I haven’t been thrilled by his past few movies and wanted this one so badly to have me on the edge of my seat and curious as to where I might end up 2 hours later. I did get the satisfaction of a tense movie that had me on the edge of my seat. However, it was more from the visually disturbing scenes and uncomfortable situations rather than an interesting plot or a mysterious turn of events. The only curious thing about the movie was whether this was intended as a dark comedy or a trippy eco-friendly warning? I never knew if I was to take Mark and Zooey’s characters seriously or not. I do need to toss up mad love to one of my favorite under-rated actors: John Leguizamo. He brought me to the edge of my seat with one of the most tense scenes in the movie. (For those of you not heeding my warning, it’s the Jeep scene!)

The big payoff is the last uncomfortable scene of the movie. It’s just that: horribly uncomfortable and awkward in a creepy way! I think it creeps me out so much though because it’s one of my worst fears!

So sorry Shyamalan. You’re not getting anymore of my money at the movie theaters. You’ve lost me as a fan 😦

8 Responses to “The Happening didn’t happen”


  1. June 13, 2008 at 7:22 pm

    Dude, did you not see Lady in the Water? That movie was a total mess. I really liked The Sixth Sense and Unbreakable, but the rest of his stuff has been pretty bad.

  2. June 13, 2008 at 8:11 pm

    No man, I didn’t give Lady in the Water time of day. After Signs and The Village I wasn’t up for it. I was hoping this return us back to earlier Shyamalan.

    I must say, thinking about it, the tension and uncomfortableness is pretty good. The plot falls flat 😦

  3. 3 Brent
    June 16, 2008 at 7:47 am

    Saw it as well.

    I did enjoy the humor in the movie. The special FX were pretty good. But, yes, the plot/story was lacking … especially the way the movie ended.

    worth $4, not $10.

  4. June 16, 2008 at 11:26 pm

    My two favorite Shyamalan films are actually Unbreakable and The Village, with the Sixth Sense and Signs behind them. I didn’t hate Lady in the Water, but was very underwhelmed by it. I want to love his work, but everything I’ve heard about The Happening makes me want to stay away. This must be the reason why no studios bought his original script when he first shopped it. I don’t know how much of it was changed to make for what became The Happening, but not enough I’m sure.

  5. June 20, 2008 at 3:37 am

    I was most impressed by his sixth sense and Unbreakable. And lost some interest on him in the signs and hardly never watched rest of his movies. but the happening movie given a big hype ..so my expectations were more ..but ..every thing spoiled. Still I have a belief that ..manoj can make some good movies ….but I wish he should come out of the so called thrilling movies.

  6. June 20, 2008 at 10:53 am

    I wish he’d make a sequel to Unbreakable!

  7. 7 amanda
    June 25, 2008 at 5:43 pm

    what a let down! i hated this ridiculously boring movie! script was awful, acting was the worst i’ve probably ever seen in my life! lost faith in going to the movies now, what a waste of time and money and anyone who sees this junk will probably need therapy to get this out of their mind! You should be ashamed of yourself, M. Wahlberg, trusted that since you were in this movie it might be worth taking a look at. so disgusted and actually it was so bad it was comical watching them commit suicide and that is disturbing.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


