16
Jun
08

The incredible Incredible Hulk review!

If you agree with me that every Batman sequel without Michael Keaton was a total disaster and humiliation until finally, arguably one of the most satisfyingly entertaining reboots in superhero glory was made: Batman Begins, then we can agree that Ang Lee’s 2003 Hulk was a disaster and we won’t even mention it again in this review (I’m not even going to link it!) No need to compare the two. No need to contrast the two. There’s a reason this title boasts INCREDIBLE in it’s name because it’s FLIPPIN’ INCREDIBLE!!! THANK YOU!!!

I mean the Incredible Hulk just begged to be a movie! I watched the TV show in rerun syndication obviously, and I read the comics but there is just something missing and this movie gives it to us! It’s almost humorous that Bruce’s 1st transformation is hidden and concealed because we know what he’s become but it’s almost genius the slow reveal of the menacing giant that was once Bruce Banner. Thankfully, we aren’t shy on the metamorphosing of the Hulk either! Let’s set aside the child-like humor and kiddi-ness that Michael Bay brought to the Transformers, if you totally dug seeing Transformers transforming and kicking the crap out of one another then you will LOVE the Incredible Hulk! I mean there’s a ton of smashing going on here but it’s to the point that I’m just stunned by how cool it came out πŸ™‚

The opening credits get all the back story out of the way and set us up for a great chase! We begin to quickly foresee where we’re going with the plot but it doesn’t really matter. It’s like knowing Megatron and Optimus Prime are going to duke it out! This is what we came to see! The Hulk is big, mean, and gnarly! There’s some funny throwaway lines that made me grin. There’s even Stan Lee and Lou Ferrigno!

Ed Norton and Liv Tyler kind of got blasted in some reviews I saw earlier so I find them worth mentioning. I LOVE Ed Norton and while he didn’t blow me away with anything spectacular, he walks downtroddenly and looks frantic while running away πŸ™‚ “Liv Tyler as pouty” = a bad thing? I mean you look up pouty in the dictionary and it’s Liv Tyler. I don’t take that as a bad thing. I expect it. She has more personality and passion here than she did in Lord of the Rings and Armageddon combined. Should I even bring up Jennifer Connelly’s performance…ARGH I swore I wouldn’t mention it. Moving on, Tim Roth and William Hurt! Come on people. Everyone who’s seen Iron Man will get an extra added bonus as well.

This is just a fun movie. It’s one of the ones that’s worth it to go catch it in the theater to bask in all it’s earth-shattering goodness! Added bonus: it’s PG-13 so we’re talking no sex, no lewdness, and I think 2 swear words that weren’t even the big 3. I even loved what they did with the ending and I get excited thinking about it!

2 Thumbs up for tons of fun! And this was an incredibly long review!

6 Responses to “The incredible Incredible Hulk review!”


  1. June 16, 2008 at 10:42 pm

    I definitely enjoyed it. Thought it was excellent. I didn’t hate the previous Hulk though. I thought it was good too (the dogs were probably a bit much) and that it served its purpose as a set up movie for studying Bruce and how he and the Hulk are one and the same.

    Anyway, great movie. Can’t wait for the Dark Knight and the new Will Smith flick.

    It’s a super hero kind of summer.

    πŸ™‚

  2. June 16, 2008 at 11:07 pm

    I thought Hulk was just too bogged down and like they tried SOOO HARD to be a “comic book movie” that it didn’t work for me.

    I’m actually getting more and more excited for Hancock. I mean, I know Will Smith has a movie every July 4th but this one seemed terribly lackluster on the initial preview. The one that showed before the Incredible Hulk made it look July 4th worthy! I’m pumped!

    It’s definitely good to be a comic book dork these days πŸ™‚

  3. June 17, 2008 at 2:55 am

    hi friend
    good work and this movie is too goood

    if you want to link exchange with my site then plz visit my
    site
    http://unlimited-moviez.com/
    thank you

  4. June 17, 2008 at 8:29 am

    I saw it this weekend and thought it was great. I never bothered to see Hulk because it didn’t even look good in the trailers.

    But this one even exceeded my expectations. I’m very excited about the comic book movie genre these days!

    Batman is going to be sick!!

    ps. Looks like you’re back up to full steam w/ the blogging! Good news for the blogosphere!

  5. June 17, 2008 at 11:18 am

    Yeah buddy I think I’m back full swing! Alot of things have been happening professionally (the official switch to Youth) and personally that have been distracting and time consuming. I’m beginning to create a pace though so its becoming manageable πŸ™‚

  6. June 17, 2008 at 11:33 am

    I’m feeling better about the movie after reading your review. Every time I saw the preview, I literally said out loud, “that movie’s gonna stink.”

    Now, I’m rethinking. I’m still on the “must NOT see” side, mainly just because I’m usually too cheap to go to the movies, and because it has Liv Tyler. She was the only bad part in the casting of Lord of the Rings.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other followers

Categorical Listings


