17
Jun
08

Coldplay’s Viva La Vida SMASH HIT!

Typically, I have time to get a listen in before reviewing a new release. Thanks to an educational copy I received last week I’ve been drunk on Viva La Vida for almost 5 days now and like Christmas Eve anxiously waiting for my pre-order from iTunes to begin downloading!

If you are sick and tired of being beaten over the head with X&Y like most of the public then you’ll find the tonality of Viva La Vida incredibly refreshing! What I absolutely love about Coldplay is their insane ability to make music that sounds incredibly rudimentary and yet wildly complex at the same time. They’re like onions people! They have layers πŸ™‚ I honestly wonder what the band is doing for some of the songs because there’s nothing happening other than piano and ambience! Then like a clap of thunder it gets vividly deep and nearing out of control. If there’s a complaint on this CD it’s that it never gets out of control. There are moments when I think the bottoms going to fall out and they’re going to kick down the walls and then it steps away from it a few feet before the wall. I assume (and hope and pray) that this makes for a stellar live show!

I think what I love most about what happened on this CD is the diverse tones. It’s like Chris Martin approached the keys as many guitarist approach guitars and pedals. The keys range from incredible pipe organs to child-like tinker toys. Many times I don’t even know what’s making that noise I just love it! The use of strings here are wicked cool and again (I can hope and pray) they tour with a string section because I believe I’d pee my pants!

There are cool throwbacks to U2, Radiohead, and even the Beatles here but to me, Coldplay wraps it up concisely and neatly in to a collaboration that makes them the infectious band that I can’t get enough of. There aren’t terribly many radio friendly tunes here and that may be it’s greatest asset. I’m not sure this is palatable for radio as previous endeavors were. Hopefully that means whippings we’ve received like the new iTunes ad are over and we can enjoy this release on our own terms. Seriously, if you haven’t picked this up yet you’re wasting time. You won’t regret it!

2 THUMBS UP!!!

5 Responses to “Coldplay’s Viva La Vida SMASH HIT!”


  1. 1 rodge
    June 17, 2008 at 10:49 am

    i’m liking it a lot too, though it’s taking me 5 or 6 listens. i think they’ve worked their rythms harder than anything to break out of that 8th note rut they can do so well now. And for me, the greatest shame is that they chose Eno to produce for them, which means it’s got an unforgettable fire/city of blidning lights feel to it. which is nice, but why choose your favourite bands favourite producer, when you already sound like u2 anyway? why not pick timbalnad or rick rubin or someone that’ll really push some different buttons? anyway, it’s a good album i think, and sounds different enough from the previous work to really have its own personality

  2. June 17, 2008 at 11:19 am

    Dude great point! I was thinking the same thing about Eno. First it was: WOW GREAT CHOICE! Then thinking about it, I drew the same conclusion. Ah well. Maybe Timba was busy πŸ™‚

  3. June 17, 2008 at 3:45 pm

    Or maybe Timbaland’s 150,000 charge per song was just a bit too much.

    πŸ™‚

  4. 4 rodge
    June 17, 2008 at 10:52 pm

    i think EMI would consider it a good investment, considering coldplay releases are now anticapted by the share market. think about that for a minute. you’re in a band that affects the Dow Jones index….

  5. 5 rodge
    June 17, 2008 at 10:55 pm

    i tell you that I think “Yes” is the most unexpected part of the album for me, that second part channels My Bloody Valentine something fierce. Go check out MBV on last.fm if you haven’t heard them. They kind of own the textured washy shoegazer stuff. Imagine if coldpay went a little more down that road.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


