17
Jun
08

Worship Confessional – June 15th – The Final Stand

This past Sunday was my final Sunday as The Worship Leader for River Community Church. It’s only fitting that I actually do a confessional for my last hoorah ๐Ÿ™‚

Let’s start off with the songs:

Prelude – Song of Hope – Robby Seay Band
1. Awesome is the Lord/City of Blinding Lights – Chris Tomlin/U2
2. Come Thou Fount – David Crowder version
3. Blessed Be Your Name/With or Without You – Matt Redman/U2
4. Sing Alleluia – special with my Mom
5. Surrender
6. I Saw the Light – YEEHAH Bluegrass!

Each one of this week’s songs other than Surrender had something special to it. Most all of them I had introduced to the church. It’s definitely the style I took our team musically in.
Last Father’s Day I played Robby Seay’s Faith of Our Fathers and it was the controversy of the year as to whether it was “inappropriate” and this year I decided to play another Robby Seay tune ๐Ÿ™‚ We play City of Blinding Lights as the Intro/Outro and 1st verse groove of Awesome is the Lord and I think that’s something special we created here at River. Similarly with Blessed Be Your Name and W/ or W/o You, however I got that idea from Phil at the BaldWorshipLeader.com. Come Thou Fount is one of my favorite hymns to do and I discovered and shared what “Ebenezer” in Vs. 2 means with the congregation. Sing Alleluia was a duet with my Mom who’s on our worship team. I Saw the Light was the inspiration for my idea of doing Bluegrass Sunday which has become one of our traditions here at River. So for me and the team it was a great morning of “Ahh, remember when” with these tunes!

However, the morning was not without it’s “Ahh, holy crap what’s going on!” either. I had a loose cable on my pedal board that caused my Gretsch to go out during Song of Hope. I got so mad I finally stomped on the Wah and it magically came on! After rechecking all my connections I didn’t have any further problems.
Somehow, I still haven’t figured this out, while swapping my Gretsch for my acoustic I managed to pull my microphone stand down. I feel this whap on the back of my head as I set my Gretsch down and see my mic on the floor! I’m still dumbfounded as to how I did that! Looking back, it’s one of the funniest things that’s happened on stage. In the moment all I could sputter was…”Wow…that has never happened before…” as I then bent down to pick up the acoustic. Fortunately, it was before a time I was going to read from 1st Samuel to set up the next song so I just went to scripture to reset my mind ๐Ÿ™‚

The team was super and they’re actually doing a painfully great job of reminding me just how great I had it as our Lead Worshipper. Our new Worship Leader even joined with us! She lent her voice, violin, and fiddle and it was an amazing collaborative effort! I’m hugely regretting that all I remembered to record was the last segment of the service. Hopefully you’ll have that tomorrow to see our hoedown!

Thank you River. Thank you team. Thank you God. These past 2 years leading and worshipping with you have been a milestone in my life that I will not forget.

5 Responses to “Worship Confessional – June 15th – The Final Stand”


  1. June 17, 2008 at 6:59 pm

    Just had my last Sunday as worship pastor at St. Paul’s in Connecticut last Sunday (June 8). It was an overwhelmingly bittersweet experience. Glad to hear that — aside from your mic stand attacking you — your final Sunday went well!

  2. June 17, 2008 at 7:09 pm

    hey man, thanks for sharing. 3 questions, and feel free to answer “none of my business”.

    1. do u sing “Song of Hope” in the same key? Robby led us in worship last week at Willow and I loved the sound, but like Tomlin’s stuff, I found it too high for me to sing.

    2. what was the controversy about?

    3. will you still be able to get on rotation now and then as a worship leader?

    just curious!

  3. June 17, 2008 at 10:25 pm

    Hey Fred, no problem man. I’m an open book!

    1. “Song of Hope” was doable in the original key for me. We did it as a prelude so I wasn’t really considering the congregation b/c they wouldn’t be obliged to sing it. However, if I were to do it congregationally I’d look at the key most definitely.

    2. It’s kind of funny now. The whole “controversy” has become “controversial” as to whether or not it was really “controversial” or not but since it’s the only bump in the road I’ve ever really had. 1st there was the attire: I wear a tie 3 times a year: Mother’s Day, Father’s Day, and Christmas. That Father’s day I did the shirt, tie, jeans, & Chuck Taylors combo. It “didn’t work” I was told. Then there was the choice of doing RSB’s Faith of Our Father’s after communion as a special song. I was told it was “rocking, raucous, and inappropriate.” The version that goes around now includes “metal” but I can’t be sure that’s true ๐Ÿ™‚
    In all honesty, the true inappropriateness was the position of the song in the service in combination with our inexperienced sound tech coupled with the ‘surprised’ reaction of our Pastor. He had heard a recording of the song earlier in the week but obviously didn’t pay enough attention to it. It was after communion which is a low, contemplative, and reflective period and yeah it’s 2 electric guitars but geez, it’s tempo and style is less than Your Grace is Enough and several other worship songs we do.

    3. That’s a great question. I don’t know. We’re still ironing out details now. I’ll still be on the worship team singing and playing when it doesn’t interfere with youth activities. I assume I’ll be the #1 backup when needed but then again my #1 backup that I used is a great friend of mine and I’d love to continue using he and his wife so I’m honestly great either way!

  4. June 19, 2008 at 4:42 pm

    “Come Thou Fount is one of my favorite hymns to do and I discovered and shared what โ€œEbenezerโ€ in Vs. 2 means with the congregation.”

    I was just wondering about that as I was also considering doing “Come Thou Fount.”

    What does it mean?

  5. June 19, 2008 at 5:59 pm

    Surely!
    Ebenezer means “stone of help.” It’s quite an interesting story in 1 Samuel 7. The Israelites are sore because the Ark has been taken from them. Samuel comes and intercedes on their behalf for them at Mizpah and while they are praying and fasting the Philistines think they can come up and overtake them. Samuel cries out to the Lord and God steps in and confuses the Philistines. The Israelites are then able to subdue and defeat them.
    1 Samuel 7:12 reads, “Then Samuel took a stone and set it up between Mizpah and Shen. He named it Ebenezer, saying, “Thus far has the LORD helped us.” 13 So the Philistines were subdued and did not invade Israelite territory again.”

    So we sing:
    Here I raise my Ebenezer, hither by Thy help I’ve come and I hope by Thy good pleasure, safely to arrive at home. Jesus sought me as a stranger, wondering from the fold of God. He to rescue me from danger, interposed His precious blood.

    It’s this beautiful picture combining what God did for Samuel and rescuing them from mortal peril and what Jesus did for us in eternal sense of things.

    At least, that’s how I interpret it.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


