18
Jun
08

Twhirl vs. TwitterFox and other Twitter apps

In response to my good buddy Jonathan‘s question I thought I’d post this so that maybe those other users could join in as well.

My progress has been from Twitbin -> Flock -> TwitterFox -> Twhirl. You asked for the short version so here you go:

I like Twhirl because:

  • It has all the functions of TwitterFox that I liked and then some
  • It has it’s own window outside of the toolbar
  • It’s customizable with skins and such
  • It shows @s and DMs and normal tweets in different colors
  • It shows my Tweet’s profile pic and hovering over it gives me instant access to @ or DM
  • Send pics from w/in twhirl
  • Search, filter, mark as seen, trash, favorite with the click of a button
  • Auto updates and notifies you with pop-ups

Anyone else? What are your thoughts on Twitter apps? What do you use?

12 Responses to “Twhirl vs. TwitterFox and other Twitter apps”


  1. June 18, 2008 at 10:33 pm

    Searh huh? I’ve been using twitterfox but I think I need to start twhirlin’

  2. June 18, 2008 at 10:46 pm

    Very interesting…I’m sure I’ll have to give it a whirl. πŸ™‚
    I also tried a Windows Vista sidebar gadget called Twadget, but it was unreliable at best. I might still try one of the others, though.
    TwitterFox does do some of those things, well, maybe three of those things…

  3. June 18, 2008 at 10:47 pm

    Searh?
    But yes, start twhirlin’, I promise you won’t get dizzy πŸ™‚

  4. June 18, 2008 at 10:50 pm

    I use twhirl @ work but at home I use twitteriffic. It’s more Mac-like than twhirl, integrates with growl neatly, and doesn’t close when I hit the x button.

    Major pet peeve on Macs for me. An app that closes when you x it out. Make it work like the rest of the OS.

  5. June 18, 2008 at 10:50 pm

    my progression was: twitterfox > flock > twitterrific > twhirl.

    i actually prefer twitterrific for the UI style, but twhirl seems a much more solid app.

  6. June 19, 2008 at 12:51 am

    I’m a Twhirl evangelist!

  7. 7 Rae
    June 19, 2008 at 4:23 pm

    Once again, what the crap are you talking about? πŸ™‚ (i just had to put comments on here since I dont read your blog often) But yeah I have no clue what you are talking about in these last 2 posts.

  8. June 19, 2008 at 6:03 pm

    Sweety, the fact that you even opened and read my blog turns me on πŸ™‚ It doesn’t matter if you know what I’m talking about or not. (However, I will explain it to you when I get home.)

  9. June 23, 2008 at 3:08 pm

    Twitter.com > Twitteriffic > Twitterfox > Twirl > Twitterrfic

    Twirl kept giving me the ‘5 minute pause” all day long, finally gave up.

  10. September 7, 2008 at 9:16 am

    Ahhh, just what I was looking for! Thanks for the feedback! I’m going to start twhirlin’

  11. June 27, 2013 at 7:57 pm

    Hi my family member! I want to say that this article is
    awesome, great written and come with approximately all vital infos.
    I would like to look more posts like this
    .

  12. October 22, 2013 at 5:55 pm

    We’ve been several volunteers along with establishing a different structure in our area. Your website made available united states by using information to be effective about. You could have executed a solid job along with our total local community may very well be thankful to you personally.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


