07
Jul
08

STEWPOT Evening 1

OK so after I wrote that last post I had a student come sit down with me and we had the most incredible discussion. I may be a lifer in the Youth Ministry after all. It started with one of the best confessions I think I’ve ever heard: 

So like, I never knew there was so much to being a Christian. Like all I knew was that you were supposed to say the right things and do good but there’s just so much more to that. More than just being a “good Christian.” Christianity is like HUGE! 

I love students. I love how perceptive they are. I love how honest they are. We just spent the last hour discussing “Why salvation is a good thing,” social injustice, the bigness of God, karma vs. grace, and experience and knowledge. 

I’m exhausted 🙂 but I’m so excited I may not ever get to sleep.

5 Responses to “STEWPOT Evening 1”


  1. July 8, 2008 at 8:19 am

    Man, I know the feeling. At our camp this year, every night (after a long long hot, climbing mountains twice a day, day) from 10:30 pm – 1:30 AM I had a group of 4 guys sitting on my bed talking about God, His mysteries, and the life lessons for a Christian 101! It is amazing. Once these guys get a true glimpse of Christ and what fleshing out their faith truly means! We did a class with a guy from Lifeway who is the executive editor for all of their student ministry literature. He showed us some interesting facts. The first is that the youth of today see no RELEVANCE to the church, not “spirituality” but to the church. They are very spiritual, not christian, but spiritual. Also, he said that if we do not reach the kids of this generation, that the church will be gone in 20 years or less. Man, that’s a heavy load to put on youth counselors and pastors. I’m praying for you guys!
    Blessings!
    Jason (I may have a proposition for you. In the fall we are going to be doing a lockin, and I am putting together a praise and worship band . . . have any interest? I have Justin lined up, Brandon lined up, Josh from the band Crave on keys (hes great!) and possible other people. Maybe we could get your kids up here too! I would love to worship with you guys! Man, I think our youth group is the best example of how not to be a baptist youth group, inside of a baptist church! More about relationship than religion! Love you man! You are a bresh freath of hair! LOL! Call me if you need to talk. I am going to get my counselors praying for you guys! REVIVAL WILL START IN THE HEARTS OF OUR KIDS!!!!! Man, I just want to be along for the ride!)

  2. 2 foo.oswald
    July 8, 2008 at 5:40 pm

    That brought back memories for me. Memories of when I used to work with the youth, going on mission trips. I only went because I was “the drummer”, and it was an excuse to get a free vacation. But God always got through to me somehow, and I ended up experiencing Spiritual growth.

    So, I suppose I’m slightly jealous of you, for several reasons. First, because you’re getting paid to do something so freaking cool. Second, because you’re in Dallas. Third…well, I’ll let you know…

    Anyway, you’re all being prayed for, so go get ’em…

  3. 3 Jimbo
    July 8, 2008 at 6:07 pm

    I want to know what FAO Oswalds “third” is???

    Sounds like a great experience so far and look forward to more youth growth stories.

    I never had any mission trip / youth group experiences growing up and believe it’s a great opportunity for the leaders, the youth and hopefully those being ministered to… Thanks.

  4. July 8, 2008 at 10:23 pm

    Thanks guys!
    Jason, I’d love to be a part of that if possible! Sounds great!
    Foo, yeah man I’m dying to know what number 3 is too 🙂

  5. July 9, 2008 at 11:30 pm

    Lovin’ the updates and love this post. We just finished an amazing week of camp ourselves and I agree with you: hanging with students is one of the best things in the whole world. I’m so inspired, over and over again, by watching their lives and watching them “get God”. So cool!

    The great thing is I get to “do camp” all over again in a couple weeks. I was asked to be a camp speaker at another district camp. I’m so pumped!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


