27
Jul
08

Updated Gear with pics

I nabbed some pics of my gear at camp this past week. It’s something that’s been long overdue. I can’t believe I forgot to take a picture of my acoustic 😦 

Gear heads click on the Updated Gear link on the top of the page and enjoy yourself. I’d love to know your thoughts. The Ibanez Chorus/Phaser was a new toy this past week that I only had a day or two to fool around with. Upon initially getting to camp and setting up, all my amp would do would emit an awful whirring sound that replicated itself over and over again. I basically had to take everything out of the signal chain after the Tube Screamer (which you’ll see is all the time based effects.) It wasn’t until sometime Tuesday that I had time to tinker. I’m still not sure what caused it. I did substitute one cable for another. I haven’t had time if it was a bad patch cable or just something that came loose in the 6 hour drive up to camp. Either way, the Phaser didn’t get any love until Thursday. I used it for 1 song and it was a quirky one about Penguins 🙂 I hope to get into it a bit more. 

I HATE the Strobostomp, however after a week of being forced to use it I’m down from UTTER HATRED. It’s tough to tune on the go with as well as if your guitar is just plain wicked out of tune and you need to quickly find where you’re at. I think a PEWaves tuner is in my near forecast.

5 Responses to “Updated Gear with pics”


  1. July 27, 2008 at 11:38 pm

    A good trick with the strobo is to switch to the neck pickup, turn the tone knob all the way down, and the volume about half way down. Perfect tuning every time.

    I know that’s not so good for quick tune-on-the-fly but it gives you an extremely accurate intonation. For tuning on the fly you it just takes some getting used to. Whatever you do, just don’t use the Boss tu-2. Tone-suck out the wazoo.

  2. July 27, 2008 at 11:44 pm

    Yeah all that dancing and still the display never stops moving 🙂
    I’ve had the TU-2 for years but I’m on the move. I looked at the Planet Waves but I really dig brokenheadstock.com and I’m pretty sold on the PEWaves and it’s only 43 bucks.

  3. July 28, 2008 at 12:04 am

    I use the Boss and I’m not sure I’ve noticed any tone suckage, but am I tempted to go back to a little korg tuner and just pull the plug out and in w/out popping.

    Kinda hurt to pay so much for a tuner alone.

  4. July 28, 2008 at 6:30 am

    i still have my TU2 but now i have it on the tuner out of a EB VP Jr. Although, I must say that I hardly noticed any difference. As far as tuning goes, TU2 is fine in live situations but its also starting to annoy me with its inaccuracy. I tried the strobe of another guitarist and it just looks very very complicated in a live situation. So like you, I might look at the PEwaves as well.

    btw, i saw paul oakley’s guitarist use a slow shallow depth to create movement in his arpeggios. how do you use your phaser in a worship setting?

  5. July 28, 2008 at 10:23 am

    Hey Rhoy, yeah my TU2 really stood out to me in my electric playing. So since my bff guitarist loves the Strobostomp, I use it but I’ve come to dislike it’s insane accuracy. I’m hoping the PEWaves will be the solution.

    I haven’t used the Phaser in a worship setting just yet. I used it last week on a song a friend of mine wrote called Penguins. It’s a hilarious and fun song we opened up with the last night because the kids love it and it’s fun to jump around to. I found it gave me a “waddling” sound as I picked out individual notes in the verses! I haven’t actually found a use for it just yet but when I do I’ll let you know!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


