06
Aug
08

Marks of a Great Communicator

What is it that makes an incredible communicator? I think there is some special school or seminary or secret society out there that they must all attend. (If it is secret, I want in so send me an email on the DL!) Here’s what I’ve discovered about communicators that truly speak to me:

  • They use stools or high seated chairs
  • They like to walk around
  • They effectively know how to use a stool or high seated chair and yet still bounce up and walk around for emphasis
  • They wear a stylish shirt and jeans
  • They have an awareness for fashionable shoes
  • They’re able to remember things in their past and tell a funny story about it that correlates to the message they’re bringing
  • They’ve lived a colorful life
  • They are conscientious about their shortcomings and what they truly excel in
  • They choose 1 passage and deliver 1 point
  • Sometimes they have 2 points
  • They challenge you to follow Jesus
  • They help you understand that following Jesus makes you a better person
  • They are honest about the challenges and hardships in following Jesus
  • They somehow make a half hour or so pass like 15 minutes
  • They don’t use lots of notes
  • They use the Bible
  • They sometimes use a laptop
  • They often use a Mac
  • They’re able to engage with the audience in a personal way
  • They are great at crafting memorable word pictures

So, there you have it 🙂

5 Responses to “Marks of a Great Communicator”


  1. August 6, 2008 at 7:35 am

    Conner,

    I have to disagree with these points:

    # They wear a stylish shirt and jeans
    # They have an awareness for fashionable shoes

    If a speaker fits this description they have to work extra hard to impress me. I guess I respect authenticity and I’m not sure if I see “following the latest trends” as “authentic.”

    Other than that your list is exactly the same as mine.

  2. August 6, 2008 at 7:40 am

    Hey Billy, yeah I know what you mean. Since I was writing this somewhat tongue-in-cheek, the “awareness for fashionable shoes” might be a bit over the top 🙂

    Maybe instead of stylish and fashionable I should put “comfortably stylish.” There is a look. It is hard to describe but there is a “look” most times. I think other than John Piper, I don’t know of a communicator that blows me away that wears slacks and a button down, buttoned collared shirt.

  3. August 6, 2008 at 8:41 am

    Mac? We don’t need no stinkin Mac! Buddy, the only Mac I need is the one that is coated in cheese! Everyone and their mother knows that Vista Home Premier version is the only way to go, because it is common knowledge that Bill Gates is a god!

    Man, I really want a Mac.

    I am so going to regret that Bill Gates statement. Thankfully I pulled on my “religious” pants this morning a Pre-pented of all the sins I was GOING to commit today.

  4. August 6, 2008 at 10:15 am

    ok – haha your blog was tripping out on me when I left this comment last night. I left it like 3 times – the other two actually made it onto a different post. Weird – you can delete the other ones.

    In another version of this comment I did mention that when I look at my favorite speakers they do indeed where cool jeans, much to my chagrin.

  5. August 6, 2008 at 2:36 pm

    Yeah I did some splitting and it tweaked out.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other followers

Categorical Listings


