06
Aug
08

Preview Chris Tomlin’s Hello Love

The subject of Chris Tomlin’s new CD, Hello Love has been one of much discussion already here at Worshipcity. (If you happened to miss out on any of the fun you can catch up here.) 

So why not alert all you Chris Tomlin fans to the opportunity of previewing his CD before it comes out! WorshipTogether.com is allowing a song a week to be streamed from their site along with meanings behind the songs and lyrics. I must be a little late on this because I think that only leaves us with like 5 songs and I know there’s more on the CD than that.

This week’s song is Praise the Father, Praise the Son. It’s a song that was a late addition but something birthed out of a special moment between Chris and Ed Cash.

My likes:

  • it’s modern hymn-like. Chris does a stupid great job at this! 
  • the bridge defines the word “soars.” Again, something Chris and company do a stupid great job at!
  • it focuses on the Trinity aspect of God. I dig that.
  • it’s lyrically tough. I mean that in a super great way. I truly hope it doesn’t get lost on the listeners. I think for me it’ll be a song like Blessed Be Your Name. If we could only really grasp the concept of songs like this, our lives would truly change and worship for God would be different. “To the valley, for my soul, Thy great descent has made me whole” stands out to me every time.

 

My dislikes:

  • it’s predictable. From the moment it begins, I know exactly where it’s going.
  • it’s a studio mix. I imagine live, this song just makes the hair stand up on the back of your neck and just draws on wholehearted worship. 
  • that anyone who says anything other than great things for this song will be highly criticized by loyal devotees out there 🙂  

So what do you think? Just remember we all get to have opinions. It’s what makes us unique 🙂

17 Responses to “Preview Chris Tomlin’s Hello Love”


  1. 1 akmarietta
    August 6, 2008 at 11:21 pm

    totally agree, hearing this live would be amazing. It builds pretty well, and I imagine tomlin would drag it out a while, then let the song build and slowly you could feel the spirit move over it.

  2. 2 blogsology
    August 7, 2008 at 6:42 am

    Criticize Chris Tomlin? How dare you! What unconfessed sin issue in your life would cause you to do this?!

    Honestly, I’ve been really UNEXCITED about this release since I heard the fist single, “Jesus, Messiah”. Like you, I realize that people would flip out if he recorded “Jesus Loves Me This I Know” as a single but I thought his latest single was predictable, boring and way too easy for someone with such an enormous songwriting gift.

    I’m also one of the only people who doesn’t really like Ed Cash’s production. I think it’s WAY over-polished to the point of losing any raw emotion and passion. Just listen to the studio version of “Holy is the Lord” versus one of the live versions – it just doesn’t translate the same way in the studio.

    However, CT and Paul Baloche are the MASTERS of the congregation-friendly worship song!

  3. August 7, 2008 at 6:56 am

    Hey Conner!

    How have you been!? Sorry this may be short notice, but I am making a trip down to Louisiana on August the 23rd for a wedding and will be in town probably through ’til Monday. That only leaves Sunday open for me really to be available for pics, but I thought I’d let you know. If you and your lovely family have the time on that day, lets get some family portraits done.

    Let me know what you think. We’ll talk soon.

    bye.

  4. 4 Reg
    August 7, 2008 at 10:44 am

    “Praise the Father Praise the Son”

    Nice ambiance in the prelude, awesome crescendo into the bridge. I thought the bridge was particularly powerful and had the potential for the worship team to stay camped there for a while in a live setting…other than that pretty typical. It was recommended to be played in the key of C, but might be more suitable in G if you have the range to sing in the “key of Tomlin.”
    That’s my nickel’s worth and just another humble opinion.

    Be Blessed,
    Reg
    <

  5. August 7, 2008 at 10:55 am

    Yeah I’m with you guys here.
    @ Reg – Chris’ range always seems to be at least a step and a half too high 🙂

    @ Blogsology – yeah I too haven’t been too anxious about this release. Especially with Crowder’s live DVD/CD combo and Charlie’s new release coming out too!! Then Jesus, Messiah dropped and I sighed out loud here. I’m hoping the previews of the next few weeks turn me around because I do feel that he has a gift for writing instantly singable worship songs that call people to worship.

    @ Akmarietta – yeah this song lends itself to some real creativity and to a live setting. It seems real flexible for you to be able to manipulate it depending on the leading of the Holy Spirit.

    @ Brandon – YEAH DUDE! I’ll talk with Rae about that weekend.

  6. August 7, 2008 at 11:17 am

    i like the lyrics and the whole message of this song. although its a little predictable like many already mentioned, it is acceptable (imho) as it really sounds like a hymn. and that is good for a congregation who still embraces hymns but would like to move to a more contemporary songs gradually.

  7. August 7, 2008 at 12:13 pm

    ha…im with ya man…i just ordered it and charlie hall and crowders new ones…ill have a review up on them when i get them…

  8. August 7, 2008 at 4:24 pm

    Well, Praise the Father, Praise the Son is from a traditional hymn. Something like Praise the God the Father, Praise the Son, Praise yadda yadda Three in one, Oh Praise Him, Halleluha, Oh Praise Him, Halleluha. Ok, so my spelling is bad, I went to a private school in rural Lousyana! But, God likes me better than you . . . that’s how I pull it off!!! HA!
    Jason

  9. August 7, 2008 at 11:09 pm

    Yeah Klampert, I saw at 268’s store you can preorder all 3 for a low low price of $25. Waiting for payday to get it myself.

    @Jason yeah dude, it sounds like you’re talking about All Creatures of Our God and King. Again, Chris is able to bring a sense of familiarity to his songs that make them almost instantly singable. It also sometimes makes them predictable as such. I’m surprised a remark like that hasn’t caused any backlash! So far we’re all playing nice here 🙂

  10. 10 rodge
    August 11, 2008 at 8:57 pm

    well, Chris Tomlin bores the hell out of me. He has written some great songs though.

  11. August 11, 2008 at 10:29 pm

    HAHA! Thank you Rodge for your blunt honesty! I LOVE IT. (The honesty Tomlin lovers. I love the honesty 🙂

  12. August 23, 2008 at 1:24 am

    I’m still not totally sold on the song yet. I’ll wait for the cd to come out and see if it stands out to me while I listen to the whole thing. I think usually the cream rises on albums and this may or may not be that.

  13. 13 Deleriputz?
    September 2, 2008 at 5:16 pm

    I am dissapointed in the last two CT releases. I feel he peaked on “arriving” and this album is the next level down. Chris had what Elton John calls his “purple period” where he could do no wrong. Every artist goes through it and now it’s time for Chris to do the same…

  14. 14 Lil
    November 12, 2008 at 7:47 am

    I like most of what Chris does- there are a few songs that I don’t like- but I like probably 99 percent of his stuff. I think most would agree due to the number of albums/CD’s that he sells and take a look at the awards he has received. He took a CLASSIC hymn and gave it a twist with the addition of the chorus. True that lots of His stuff sounds similar but he is giving the people what they want. Worship. Music for Worship. Music that makes people ponder who God is and what God has accomplished for Christians. What more is there? I think worship leaders such as Chris, Paul Baloche and Smitty do just that. I think too many times worship leaders feel the need to do something different to set themselves apart from the norm. Nothing wrong with setting yourself apart but many make this their only goal and it isolates them from the mainstream.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


