12
Aug
08

iMovie or iLife ’08 Tips/Trades/Tutorials

Well most of all my “free time” and work time lately has been spent pouring myself over iMovie and iLife 08 for my MacBook Pro. There are several things that I’d like to do that I just can’t figure out myself. I’d love to know if any of you have any tips you could share or pass along? I’ve watched just about every tutorial I can get my hands on from Apple’s site but if there was another resource you could pass along, it’d be highly appreciative.Ā 

Immediate know how needed: I’m trying to buffer my video with information “slides.” I’ve figured out how to manipulate most of my video and pictures but text slides seem to be the most boring and stale. Anything creative I make in Powerpoint doesn’t transfer when saved as a movie file because custom animation can’t be transferred. So…any solutions? Any tips?

3 Responses to “iMovie or iLife ’08 Tips/Trades/Tutorials”


  1. August 13, 2008 at 12:06 pm

    As a fellow iLifer and MacBook Proer (Can I say that?), I can at least offer you my opinion šŸ™‚

    iMovie (as I’m sure you’ve been told) does not have much to offer aside from the bare basics of film editing. If you’re going to be doing a decent amount of video editing in the future, I’d recommend getting something like Final Cut Studio Express. It offers a ton of the same features as the real deal FCS, but at a much cheaper price.

    I bought it (very adamant about not pirating) at school this past year, and it included a whole separate program strictly for creating animated text. I got it all for… like $60, granted it was a student discount. I think the Express runs around $100? A bit steep, yeah, but worth the cash if you do enough editing.

    Those are my thoughts… take ’em or leave ’em šŸ™‚

    http://greg-loesch.com
    http://twitter.com/compulsiveguile

  2. August 13, 2008 at 11:39 pm

    I have to agree – iLife/iMovie is meant for home videos, that’s pretty much it. You’ll want to do something like Final Cut Express (it’s $199.99 retail) if you want more functionality.

    Adding text in iMovie is done via Titles. Check out Apple’s tutorial at http://www.apple.com/ilife/tutorials/#imovie-making-28

  3. August 14, 2008 at 2:43 pm

    Yeah man, I’ve watched all those 2 or 3 times now šŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other followers

Categorical Listings


