25
Aug
08

Don Miller’s Prayer at the DNC

I can’t believe I missed this live but I caught up with it on Don’s blog. You can head over there and read the full text of the prayer and I’d encourage you to do so! 

In case you missed it like I did though, here’s the video of it. 

I’ve been lazy in my efforts in getting involved and educated in politics. However, I wish to respect Don’s words and keep the conversation thoughtful and not reactionary. Seriously, I don’t care what convention it is, to hear those words prayed out loud is spectacular. 

Father, unify us!

16 Responses to “Don Miller’s Prayer at the DNC”


  1. August 26, 2008 at 12:33 am

    Amen! I haven’t listened to it yet but, anytime God’s word can be spoken aloud in front of so many people… has to be a good thing.

  2. August 26, 2008 at 1:54 am

    Wow…

    That was awesome on so many different levels. Thanks for sharing that!

  3. August 26, 2008 at 1:59 am

    And I just realized he’s the author of Blue Like Jazz. That’s incredible.

  4. August 26, 2008 at 11:47 am

    Sorry…I’m not that jazzed about it (pardon the pun). Good for Donald getting to pray at such a major event, and yay for the Democrats allowing prayer at their convention. But there’s too much in the prayer that sounds like political speechifying for me. Praying for a living wage? Praying for affordable healthcare for everyone? Sorry, I just don’t get it.

  5. August 26, 2008 at 11:48 am

    @Greg that’s hilarious man! And here I thought that dropping in Donald Miller would be the buzz word people would grab onto 🙂 Yeah, Blue Like Jazz author and other goodies! The man cleans up well! I’ve seen him several times but never in a suit looking so dapper!

  6. August 26, 2008 at 11:58 am

    Wow Paul, I’m surprised. To me it’s very genuine and very Donald. The entire prayer, or even speech if you will is directed to God about what’s happening.

    And no pardon here, that pun was awful 🙂

  7. August 26, 2008 at 12:45 pm

    I don’t doubt its genuineness and Donaldness. I’ve read his books, and I heard him speak at Willow, and I like him. But why pray to God for help with universal health care? Absolutely pray for wisdom for the leaders, for eyes and ears to the least of these…and if God answers those prayers in your life and you feel called to work towards helping people with health care, wonderful. But inserting a political issue by name into the prayer was a mistake in my opinion…
    But again…great for Donald getting to pray, and hooray for Democrats prominently featuring his prayer.

  8. 8 thescooterzoo
    August 26, 2008 at 1:53 pm

    why can’t we pray that everyone one has equal access to food and medical care? If we were walking the walk would we pay for those less fortunate, for whatever reason, to be able to go / or take someone / to a Dr. if they are sick? Would we go buy a bag of groceries for our neighbor if we knew they were hungry – regardless of why they were hungry? Is it up to us in our selfishness to decide who is worthy of help and who isn’t?
    – Just what I’m thinking right now.
    Thanks for listening!

  9. August 26, 2008 at 3:17 pm

    Welcome Scooterzoo – yeah I think your thoughts are great ones. Isn’t that what Don was praying for?

    However, the topic of what to do with the whether or not it is our concern to help those in need, regardless of why they are in need and what they will do with our help is a constant one among my Couples Group I’m in.

    My most favoritest plea is the protection from ourselves, “because we are easily tempted toward apathy.” My goodness that in itself speaks volumes to what I see happening in the students I work with and those around me.

  10. August 26, 2008 at 3:42 pm

    Let me be clear, and then I’m going to shut up. I agree with the previous points. I’m all for widows and orphans. 🙂
    My point, and I stand by it, is that I think it was a mistake to insert politically charged issues BY NAME into the prayer. It made it move into stump speech territory.
    If some dude at the RNC next week prays for God to help them pass legislation outlawing abortion, I’ll have the same issue with THEM.
    Good discussion.
    And I really despise politics. 🙂

  11. August 26, 2008 at 3:48 pm

    Make no mistake, the abortion topic will be addressed in the RNC prayer.

  12. August 26, 2008 at 5:50 pm

    Big fan of Donald, but i too was a little put off by the whole prayer for affordable health care thing. The fact that we even complain about and pray for affordable health care shows just how over-prospersous we as a nation are!

  13. August 26, 2008 at 7:12 pm

    So, here’s my admittance of my ignorance of politics (or either my extreme compassion 🙂
    I would agree with you if a prayer had included verbage as you mentioned: “help us path this legislative bill against abortion!” I don’t see that hear. If in fact next week someone had prayed: “help us value the sanctity of life” how could you not applaud that no matter your stance on abortion?
    How could you not wish for provision and health care for those who need it? I don’t get it.

  14. August 26, 2008 at 8:23 pm

    I guess my take is that it would have sounded less politicized has he used different wording. “God, help us compassionately and wisely care for those who have health needs, those who have physical needs, those who have spiritual needs,…”

    Second, I think that God would rather provide those things through His Church than through the government. Granted, the Church has failed in many ways in this endeavor, which has given the government cause to seek to step in. Regardless of how God heard the prayer and intends to answer, surely a large number of folks there hoped that God would allow the government to supply those needs. So the misperception that the government and not the Church is responsible for caring for the poor is my biggest beef.

    Thanks for starting the conversation,

    Michael

  15. August 26, 2008 at 9:25 pm

    OK now Michael, that’s some good stuff! I think your second point is beautiful! Man, if the church was truly all those things to it’s community. And, honestly, there are some churches doing a great job at that. I can think of some in our community here in Baton Rouge. It’s a question our church asks. It’s a question our small group asks one another!
    Just realize, it is at a political national convention, so I imagined there’d be some reactions to it. Don even knew there’d be some reactions to it from what he had to say on his blog. However, I think you also stated something good there: it’s a good conversation to start having.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


