02
Sep
08

Sunday Worship – Aug 31st Pre-Gustav

Ironically enough, this Sunday was my first Sunday back in the saddle leading worship since our new Worship Leader took the reigns. I appreciate the break in my Gustav trials to remember that time and share it with you and the community over at Fred’s incredible blog and his little blog carnival

It was quite a “Conner Sunday.” The new worship leader is quite different from me in many different areas and I strongly debated whether I would try and keep this Sunday true to the changes she has brought, however, after many people asked if I was returning “the rock,” I figured I would oblige and do what I do best. What I didn’t know was how much God would speak through those songs in to what we were about to encounter with this hurricane. 
This Sunday was on the glory of God. That was great for me, as a huge Passion-head there are tons of songs on the subject of glory from many of my favorite artists. Here’s what we did:

  • Prelude Not to Us – Tomlin
  • O for 1,000 Tongues to Sing – Crowder version
  • My glorious – Delirious
  • You’re beautiful – Phil Wickham

Then came all the meat in the middle: meet & greet, message, communion, etc.

  • Glory in the Highest – Tomlin
  • Oh Praise Him – Crowder

Like, I said, the theme and topic was great looking forward into the storm. Initially as I planned the service it went something like this: 
Not to Us as thematic greatness for sermon topic & 1 of my all time favorites ->
1,000 Tongues as a call to worship with the new chorus ->
My glorious looking at God’s grandness and thematic goodness ->
You’re Beautiful telling of God’s story shows his grandness again!

The service ended with Glory in the Highest being a great pull out of communion with topical theme ->
Oh Praise Him being the celebratory ending!  

It ended up being a great service discussing the things that glorify and point to the great grandness of God, which includes nature! The earth! Sky! Sunrise! Sunset! I just couldn’t shake My Glorious from Gustav: 

God is bigger than the air I breathe
God will save the day and all will say: “My Glorious!”

It truly was the most encouraging thing. It hit me in the face as we sung the songs the 1st service. I was glad we had 2 services that morning 🙂 I was able to offer the words of encouragement I received from the song to the congregation! Hopefully, they had those lyrics singing in their heads as we took shelter the next day.  

I’ll tell you, I’ve never seen the glory of God like when our typical 5 minute drive through our neighborhood to our house took nearly 20 minutes of winding and doubling back and going around all the fallen trees to turn on our street and see not a single downed tree! Then to find the top half of our tree square in our backyard missing my shed, our house, and the power lines that run above ground to the house from the back of the yard! I’m saying it: MY GLORIOUS!!

3 Responses to “Sunday Worship – Aug 31st Pre-Gustav”


  1. September 3, 2008 at 2:58 pm

    My Glorious is one of the first songs that i learned on the electric. i’d love to hear soundbytes of your take! the intro hook is always fun to play.

  2. 2 joelgutowsky
    September 4, 2008 at 11:28 am

    good to know this are coming out well for you guys on the other side of gustav. i hope all is well.

  3. 3 Wendy
    September 7, 2008 at 8:15 am

    Connor, Yes, thanks for bringing the rock back. Been missing it. I also sang My Glorious in my head all week. I sort of forgot some of the lyrics and replaced them with God is bigger than the hurricane! We had a tornado in our back yard, yet no significant damage to the house. God is so good to us.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other followers

Categorical Listings


