15
Sep
08

Sunday Worship Sept. 14th – Guest Worship

This past weekend was a great time of worship led by some good friends of mine! Here’s what they did: 

  • Prelude – Your Love Oh Lord – Third Day
  • Enough – Jeremy Camp’s version
  • Sing Alleluia – Jennifer Knapp & Mac Powell
  • Mighty to Save – Hillsong
  • Indescribable – Tomlin
  • Post Communion/Close of Service – My Hope is You – Third Day

I noticed three fundamental things sitting out in the congregation this week.

  1.  OUR BAND IS GOOD!! I mean on the surface that sounds like an “anti-worshipful” dig that some might criticize. But I’m just being real here, I really noticed how good the musicians are that I get the incredible opportunity to play with! And let’s be honest here who wants to worship to crappy music?!?! HAHA. This is healthy people! Take some time to get out in front of your team! If they’re good, compliment them. If they’re not, work with them! 
  2. Vocal breadth is wicked awesome! Matt and Alyssa are a husband/wife team who lead worship together and have a friend they typically bring with them. The 3 of them bring this beautiful vocal fullness to the table that is amazing! Matt’s your stable male lead. Alyssa is this wind of freedom who sings like no one else I know. Beth is your typical back up vocalist but when plugged into this trio becomes atypical! The vocal fullness was really respectful and added a feeling that “everyone was singing” and made songs like “Sing Alleluia” and “Mighty to Save” really special!
  3. Key is of the utmost importance!!! Matt played songs that I typically play in keys that I typically play as well and yet by the time the singing was over with, my voice was a little tired! I’m a vocalist! It made me realize that I need to be real conscious about the keys I choose in worship. The female vocalists have warned me about this, but I typically am dropping the keys of the songs we play a whole step already from the recordings. It something that I didn’t cater a whole lot of attention before but will examine much more thorough from now on. 

I’m posting our worship recap today as a part of the “Sunday Setlists” blog carnival hosted at FredMcKinnon.Com. What about you? Link over to this week’s Sunday Setlist and don’t forget to participate in my Hello Love Giveaway where you can win a free copy of Chris Tomlin’s new release Hello Love.

3 Responses to “Sunday Worship Sept. 14th – Guest Worship”


  1. September 17, 2008 at 10:31 am

    Hey,
    Sounds like a great Sunday … key is so important … get the key right, and you’ll see a massive increase in corporate response!

    For the Kingdom,
    Fred McKinnon
    http://www.fredmckinnon.com
    http://www.theworshipcommunity.com

  2. September 18, 2008 at 10:29 am

    “Sing Alleluia”…I forgot about that one. I love that song.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


