18
Sep
08

Hello Love Review and Giveaway

I’ve been sitting on this review for about a week now and I think that was very wise. After forcing myself to listen to Chris Tomlin’s Hello Love for about a week, things have grown on me and sit with me better than the first preview. I think the first thing to do would be to distinguish what kind of listener you are. 

  1. Chris Tomlin’s Arriving was How Great is Our God
  2. I’m Passionate about The Noise We Make

Here’s the difference. For those of us around since The Noise We Make and Not to Us there’s alot about this CD that just falls flat. I mean, I remember when Chris Tomlin was the voice of my worship in college and before he was winning awards he was on my campus with the Passion crew wrecking my brain with sounds and riffs and melodies that I didn’t think existed in Christian music. 

For those of you picking up with How Great is Our God and the Arriving CD and See the Morning, you’ll eat this up! For you, Chris Tomlin’s more the voice of the Adult Christian Contemporary scene forging great anthems and revamping great hymns that work in your church. 

Neither of those are wrong, but I believe that’s why Chris can be found in the middle of a Love/Hate discussion. I do not love this CD but I like it. 

  • It’s got great production, maybe too much production. If I heard one more choral soar on the crescendo of a song I was going to toss the CD out the window of my truck! But don’t let the production fool you. There’s a ton of great songs here that can be used in corporate worship without all the extra goodies! 
  • It’s got versatility. Full band or you and your acoustic, go for it. 
  • It’s interesting the man helping the movement towards guitar led worship uses the piano so much on this CD! However, that’s one of the things that after time I really grew to love! It adds some depth to the sound of the CD. 
  • You like hymns? You like Hello Love. You won’t find them here but you’ll eat up Praise the Father, Praise the Son and I Will Rise and Exalted. 
  • It lacks bite. Where’s the Forever? the Not To Us? the Awesome is the Lord? the Your Grace is Enough? For me, even the songs Sing, Sing, Sing and You Lifted Me Out just miss the mark. I don’t know if its the production or what. It’s the melody line of I Will Rise that does it for me. Now, don’t get me wrong, people in Category 1 up there are gonna find them “rockin’!” Different strokes people. 

Hands down favorite tracks:
With Me – shimmering guitars, driving bass, simple and great lyrics
God of This City – great studio work on an already incredible song! Little tweaks help it really shine!

Tracks I skip:
God Almighty – kudos for trying something new with the big stringy section but I didn’t like it (except the bridge.)
Love – again, kudos for trying something new. I get the global feel, Passion’s on the World tour. This song grew worse and worse on me after each listening 😦

SO, this is quite the mixed review! Briefly, Hello Love is a solid effort and release from Chris Tomlin in the vein of See the Morning and Arriving, however it leaves fans of Not to Us and Passion a bit wanting. 

Want a copy for free? I’m giving away a copy of Hello Love for free for finding out how you are spreading God’s love in your community. Comment here. Winner will be drawn tomorrow.
Already have a copy? What’d you think? Here’s what Rich said and he’s giving away a copy as well!

2 Responses to “Hello Love Review and Giveaway”


  1. September 18, 2008 at 11:54 am

    I’m pretty much with you through the whole review, although I must like “You Lifted Me Out” more than you. I’m going to lead it this Sunday and am SO looking forward to it! I’ll probably leave out the “oh, oh, oh, oh’s” out, because the “oh’s” kind of actually DO ruin the song for me. But take them out and it’s a great driving song! Try singing through it once.

  2. September 19, 2008 at 12:27 am

    I love love love Praise the Father Praise the Son…we are doing that in 2 weeks.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


