17
Oct
08

The Office Baby Shower

I’m going to say it like this: BEST EPISODE OF THE OFFICE THIS SEASON HANDS DOWN. Maybe even last season! …maybe…ever? Here’s why I love this show: in less than a half hour I felt hatred, I felt compassion, I laughed, I yelled at my TV, I typed a viscous twitter in all caps, I couldn’t breathe, I laughed out loud! I went ‘aww,’ I cared about a television character!!! 

This is why this show stands above the rest! Hands down, best show opener and two of the best show closers! I almost turned it off after Michael nearly made me cry.  

This is most definitely a spoiler filled post so if you haven’t seen this episode…I warned you.

Recap:

We have a few things happening in this episode: 
1) We have Jim and Pam fighting the long distance thing. It’s a bit silly in the beginning and ends with a super clever, heartfelt, amazing ‘conversation’ they have over their answering machines. I loved it!

2) We have Jan’s baby shower. Only the &*$%# had the baby without Michael being present. You really, really, REALLY hate Jan in this episode! I mean everything from not TELLING Michael she was going in to labor to asking him to leave the baby in the car seat when going to hold him, to her rudeness to the staff, to her forbidding him to date Holly. I HATED JAN LEVINSON in this episode. Again, we see the truly genuine soft center of Michael Scott in this episode. This office is made up of his family, people he’d want to be around his “children” “forever!” (Except Creed.) 

3) We have Dwight testing the fortitude of Jan’s extravagant baby stroller.

I will say, this episode is such a physical humor episode that reading this post is shameful. It’s the looks on everyone’s face while Jan is singing, it’s Creed wrapping his foot, it’s Dwight delivering a watermelon, it’s Stanley…uh…haha! you know, it’s Dwight beating the snot out of that stroller, it’s Holly! I mean it’s just hilarious!

One last thought, I was so glad they gave us a little Darrell! The cast of this show is so strong and the moment down in the warehouse was truly a beautiful one and I’m glad it was with ‘another baby daddy.’

Thoughts and Quotes:

My cervix is ripening! – Dwight

Andy & Dwight fighting over having Michael’s baby! ARGH! ARGH! 

Cradle my head! – Dwight

Wow what was on that? – Michael
Butter! Newborn’s are slippery! – Dwight
Nice touch. – Michael 

We all came in here and gave you a golden shower! You know what Phyllis, where’s my golden shower? – Michael

Creed wrapping his foot!! HA

If a baby were president… – Michael

Well, he may not be here (pan to Creed!) 

Must be like the tide at Omaha Beach. – Creed

I was going to talk to Holly about her hygiene. She smells of old tomatoes…and…dirt. – Michael

THE BUMPER TEST!

I’m telling you, one of the best episodes! What’d you think?

6 Responses to “The Office Baby Shower”


  1. October 17, 2008 at 7:26 am

    I can’t remember laughing that much at The Office in quite some time.

    Although the ending w/ Michael and Jim felt more like an ending to ER, I thought it was done really well and helped build depth for future episodes.

    Good stuff!

  2. October 17, 2008 at 9:07 am

    Agreed -best episode of all time!

  3. 3 blogsology
    October 17, 2008 at 11:15 am

    Best episode ever – are you crazy?!?! There are at least 10 better episodes although this one’s opening scene with the Dwight baby delivery was the best opening ever. To make my point, go and re-watch the Michael-burns-his-foot episode. It’s better.

  4. October 17, 2008 at 12:54 pm

    It’s hard to argue “best episodes ever” and I agree, Michael burning his foot was a GREAT episode. However, for the reasons mentioned above, the full range of emotions captured in this episode was more than I’ve felt for any show in a long time! Thus: best episode ever…that I can remember 🙂

  5. October 20, 2008 at 3:46 pm

    Great job! I agree that this is one of the TOP 10 episodes – lot’s of sideaches, awkward moments, heartwarming, etc. Too sappy at the end though. Here’s mine http://betterthanblank.org/the-office-baby-shower/


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


