20
Oct
08

Sunday Setlist Oct. 19th – YOUTH WORSHIP

Last night was our first Youth Worship Service of the season! It was incredible! Probably the most engaging worship service that I’ve had with our students. It was truly spectacular witnessing what’s happened with our students! 

Here’s what we played: 

  1. Make a Joyful Noise/I Will Not Be Silent – David Crowder*Band – Lime CD
  2. We Won’t Be Quiet – DC*B – Remedy Club Tour
  3. Marvelous Light – Charlie Hall – Flying Into Daybreak
  4. Forever – Chris Tomlin – Live in Austin
  5. Grace Like Rain – Todd Agnew-ish

Here’s what we had: 

  • Conner Byrd (me) – guitars and lead vocals
  • Stephanie (student) – backing vocals
  • John Ryan (student) – electric guitar
  • Billy (student) – bass
  • Smitty Bombs – turn tables and percussion kit
  • Foo-oswald – drums

Yes the names of the guilty adults who participated have been changed to their nicknames 🙂 

I think I probably played one too many songs looking back. Our first two were so energetic and crazy that I was winded after finishing them 🙂 By the time we got to Forever, I wonder if I shouldn’t have simply moved to Grace Like Rain. Regardless, the students pushed on through and their enthusiasm and singing and clapping was encouraging. However, I think next time we might split up and do 3 or 4 and then come back and finish with another 1 or 2. 

I’ve been brewing on this ‘God as light’ lately and so before Marvelous Light (as I swapped to my acoustic) I got a little excited talking about how we all are aware of our dependance on light from sunlight and even fabricated light in our daily activities, how we need the light to function and see and walk about and how we depend on the light for our survival. It’s not wonder why God uses the light as a metaphor for Himself. Our spiritual survival is dependent upon living in the light of Jesus Christ. 

I know preachers shouldn’t sing and singers shouldn’t preach but sometimes I get carried away! 

I just still can’t get over how much the students participated in our yelling and chanting and lifting our hands and spinning 🙂 We have a really young student ministry at RCC and all of this is still pretty new to our students. Seeing them going for it last night was so incredibly special it’s just hard to put into words! Having students up there leading worship with me made me so proud! I am so blessed to have students interested in playing and willing to play in church. Thank you Jesus! 

All a part of Fred’s Setlist Carnival.

1 Response to “Sunday Setlist Oct. 19th – YOUTH WORSHIP”


  1. October 22, 2008 at 12:43 pm

    cool set. all great songs.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


